Jane Stapleford’s curious creatures at Day Gallery

Posted: September 12, 2020 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags: , ,

we visited Jane Stapleford’s fabulous exhibition of curious creatures at Day Gallery

“Creatures have always sat for me in my mind.

They latch onto me with their eyes and images start to form. I see them not just in their native environment, but can easily be transported to the far off lands that have populated my imagination since I was a little girl.

In this exhibition, I chose to represent a cross-section of those environments that have been foremost in my mind over the last year. Probably affected by our current predicament, being restricted to home most of the time, my imagined spaces have become more intimate on the whole, although the odd swash-buckling monkey has found it’s way in somehow.”

JANE STAPLEFORD, SEP 2020
Jane took a break from painting to meet us in the gallery for a chat about her work and gave me her magical
‘Elf who wanted to be the Mad Hatter in Alice in Wonderland’
Feeling very inspired with this magical being in our house!
Old Man Crow fell in love with The Thought Fox
and I got lost in the magic of Raphael and his Cabinets of Curiosity

Jane’s show is on til the end of September and it’s spring in the mountains!

Comments
  1. Nancy says:

    You do find the most curious art! I like both of your choices too 🙂

  2. Eliene says:

    Beautiful works……and especially love the new addition to the family. He is so dapper.

  3. debgorr says:

    Such detail!

please leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.