beware dragons lie within!

Posted: June 3, 2012 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags: , , ,

I was born to catch dragons in their dens
And pick flowers
To tell tales and laugh away the morning
To drift and dream like a lazy stream
And walk barefoot across sunshine days.

I was born to find goblins in their caves
And chase moonlight
To see shadows and seek hidden rivers
To hear the rain fall on dry leaves
And chat a bit with death across foggy nights.
– James Kavanaugh
excerpt from Sunshine Days and Foggy Nights
via Whiskey River

The song I am illustrating at the moment was written for our friends Eric & Carol when they went up north back at the turn of the century to start their Dragonglass Studio
Here’s a few photos of them blowing glass
and here’s some of their beautiful Dragonglass that you can see once a month at Yungaburra Markets  and every Sunday at Port Douglas Markets
The song is called “Evaline” and here’s an excerpt from our first collaboration back in 1997 illustrating the verse I’m working on now


So here’s the drawing on this Full Moon morning with 2 weeks to go ’til the next Dark of the Moon
Rod recorded it at the time, it was our first attempt at making a multimedia experience but the tape is long gone!
and here’s a piece of dragonish glass I carved back in 1989
you can see more of my ancient history here

Comments
  1. I love the crows in the shower.

  2. deanna7trees says:

    wow. your talent is unending. i had to think a bit when you said, “at the turn of the century”. i had to remember we’re into the 21st now.

    • Mo Crow says:

      y’know every time I write 2 thousand and whatever the year it is now I am amazed to still be here but then there are still so many more dreams to make I need quite a few more years yet to see them through, x fingers!

  3. I just spent a whole bunch of time looking into your creations (‘ancient history”)–everything there showed skill and inspiration. If I had any spare cash, I’d be ordering things. Thanks for sharing all that.

  4. Suzanne Duce says:

    And I’m sure I hear that showery crow singing, “Fly Me To The Moon” tra la la aark aark
    Dragonglass to the dragon’s glass – all of it fantastic ART. Magic!

    • Mo Crow says:

      haven’t heard that song for such along time it was one of my Dad’s favourites & he sang it so well along with Paper Moon & Chatanooga Choo-Choo!

please leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.