Moon Test 1 done (for now)

Posted: July 8, 2017 by Mo Crow in Braille for the Soul, It's Crow Time
Tags: , ,


Moon-Test-1-Mo17Moon Test 1 Mo17
H 5cm W 10cm
electric blue suede, vintage thread, Abaca paper, blue silk cord, blue piping, vintage starry cloth from Nancy of Pomegranate Trail, grape vine tendrils, 1.5mm & 2mm black leather cord, beads, Lapis Lazuli
side view
dark side of the moon stitched with Gütermann black linen thread
it’s a bit wonky but I learned a lot!
suede doesn’t like paste
the edge of the papier maché mold needs to be reinforced
the decorative piping is a bit too trizzy
Moon Test 2 will resolve more issues before working these ideas into Once in a Blue Moon
“I dream of a world where love is the answer” rough scale drawing
it will be app 10-12 foot high & wide
the 44 pennants cut out of the vintage wedding dress have flown out all around the world
to be filled with good vibes, hopes and dreams and returned by December 2018
will wait to begin making the dreaming tree and moon boat until this time next year as I will need to arrange my studio space to fit it in & make it narrow enough to fit out the front door when it’s ready to go, will start waxing the rusted steel dress form at the gallery soon
with deep gratitude to the wonderful circle of cloth conjurors for the encouragement & good vibes, magic is afoot!

Comments
  1. dinahmow says:

    When the learning becomes the process…
    You’re a strong worker, Mo

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Di))) a fair few of my friends are starting to tell me they really don’t want to know about what I am trying to make, lucky I have more tolerant friends here in bloglandia!

  2. Catherine Wright says:

    Thank you Mo, the little package arrived and I (and Sarah too but I can’t speak for her) will be thinking very hard about what to stitch….

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Cathy))) listen to your heart it’s full of hopes and dreams and gosh we need them more than ever in this strangest year for our beautiful broken world, may the mending begin!

  3. Carol says:

    I think I’ve missed a couple of weeks (or more), Mo, so I’m going back to see what I’ve missed and will return here. ((((Mo))))

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Carol))) on a roll with Braille for the Soul scheduled for a show at Artsite Gallery in 2019

      • Carol says:

        Mo, I’ve just gone back to mid April and that’s the last comment I can find though I know I’ve commented since then! Don’t know what is going on but I’ve really enjoyed your posts, both the re-reads and the many I’ve missed over the past weeks. I love the idea of the pennants – I’m guessing they’ve all gone now? Watching the progress of Moon Test I has been marvellous, your imagination and perseverance is inspirational. Oh, and another show at Artsite Gallery is fabulous and something to look forward to. ((((Mo))))

  4. coloremartine says:

    Sleepless full moon night brings me to you and oh……….always beauties…………

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Martine))) it needs a rest to incubate the dark side needs more work on the rim but have learned a lot in the process, very glad I decided to do some moon tests before stretching Once in a Blue Moon & have started stitching Moon Test 2!

  5. deemallon says:

    How fantastical. It looks top heavy? I’m sure you’ll figure it out.

  6. Nancy says:

    Just the imagination, the scale, the concepts alone floor me!! So exciting to watch!
    PS The stars look wonderful here in your world 🙂 xo

  7. Almost 3AM New York time Saturday morning and I woke startled from a deep sleep for no known reason so here I am catching up with blog friends….Blue Moon–It’s a beauty even if you’re not perfectly pleased…and I’d forgotten about the boat participation but I know I said I’d like to be a part of it. Am I? If yes could you email me the LINK to the original post about it?

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Michelle))) thanks for the encouragement, will get back to Moon Test 1 when I have finished with Once in a Blue Moon, posted your pennant last weekend so it should get to you ’round the middle of next week, will e-mail you the link

  8. Rene says:

    Gosh, Mo, that is so beautiful. What an amazing achievement. You are so inspiring! Your sketch for the planned project utilising the wedding dress pennants is incredible-it will be so lovely.

  9. Marti says:

    Photos, drawings, plans, materializing into such beauty: Mo,blue moon hold deep dreaming and inspiration that reaches across the airwaves, ocean, land masses. I’ve been foraging here in the desert, picking up desert willow blossoms, leaves from globe mallow, bits of grapevine bark from our arbor, all to use to dye cloth for what I will stitch onto my pennant; choosing pieces of already locally dyed cloths that call to me; the call is deep for this project is giving me a gift of seeing this land here in New Mexico with fresh eyes and in that sense, Braille for the Soul is coming full circle..

  10. coloremartine says:

    Love is the answer Mo. A little piece of love arrived on soft wings in my hands some minutes ago and makes me dreaming,………………..

  11. Susan Hemann says:

    very exciting, your blue moon is terrific! love how you are going to display the flags, I check my mailbox every day for the cloth! Have a good weekend.

  12. Hazel says:

    Did you hear the applause from this side of things? So happy to be a part of such a wonder!

  13. perlhuhn52 says:

    Mo, that´s fabulous! And so interesting to follow your process. By the way: as I saw this I had to think of your urchin. Do you know this?? https://www.treehugger.com/culture/urchins-crocheted-installation-choi-shine-architects.html
    Doris

please leave a reply

