I dream of a world where love is the answer

Posted: June 30, 2017 by Mo Crow in Braille for the Soul, It's Crow Time
Tags: , , ,

“I dream of a world where love is the answer”
a line from a new song in process by Old Man Crow
remember that old wedding dress I was gifted a few weeks ago?
and how I was wondering what it could be?
I have invited Madeleine over to make the first cut, we will share a bottle of fine wine to fortify our spirits whilst listening to Rod Stewart singing The First Cut is the Deepest
and then cut the dress up into pennants along the creases
to be stitched with hopes & dreams
which will hang from a dreaming tree bound with the buttoned back for the trunk and the buttoned sleeves will make the branches
the tree will ride in a papier maché moon boat covered in egg shell with Honesty sprouting from the bow and stern on a sea of tulle floating on a rusted iron dress form that lives at Artsite Gallery
this is a call out for anyone interested in stitching their hopes and dreams into a pennant to fly in this dream?
once the first cut is made I will cut the skirt into long pennants and post them out
making crone magic for our beautiful broken world
PS the whole installation will be made up of many parts
as part of the piece I will make a list acknowledging all the participants and where each is from arond the world
for the Braille for the Soul show
at Artsite Gallery
scheduled for March 2019
so there’s plenty of time

PS all 44 pennants have flown out but if you want to join this circle make a small talisman and post it to me by July 2018

Comments
  1. Yes please – count me in for this magic! Wonderful

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Susi))) thank you, am feeling so very excited about this, seeing the old rusted iron dress form at the gallery was the icing on the cake!

  2. Years back I sewed for private clients, often from patterns I drafted myself . . . that first cut into their expensive fabric was very stressful! Before the first fitting I was always a bit of a wreck.

    I love how the button backs are creating little pools of rust and I’m really looking forward to seeing how this work progresses.

  3. coloremartine says:

    Mo, you surely remember what i said on this, nine days ago. Yes i would like to stitch new love in this beautiful cloth and dance this dance with you…………….

  4. Susan Kapuscinski Gaylord says:

    Mo I’d love to take part. Am I right to understand that I would be stitching a piece?

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Susan))) stitching &/or painting your dream would be wonderful, I have your postal address and will confirm it via e-mail will post the pennant out as soon as we make that first cut!

  5. Liz A says:

    Oh yes, please!

  6. fiona says:

    Dear Mo may I? I have been out of the way of things of late but found this at just the right moment! Sounds deliciously splendid and magical and hopeful!

  7. deemallon says:

    oh me too. definitely me too.

  8. Hazel says:

    Oh, please, yes…there will be a boat…dreamy sighs…

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Hazel))) x fingers it will be the most beautiful dream of a moon boat, have been working on the logistics all day (whilst out gardening) of combining the boat made of papier maché with the rusty steel twigs bound & buttoned with bits of the wedding dress…. ah ha! the paper can be laid over a chicken wire armature… this is all happening so fast, those thoughts came out just now on the fly!

  9. Eliene says:

    I may not embroider but would love to be part of this too……

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Eliene))) you’ll know what to do when the cloth arrives, it’s such luscious cloth, Madeleiine will be here at 3 to make the first cut so I will start sending out the pennants tomorrow morning!

  10. Nancy says:

    Mo~ Not sure what all I can or will do…but I’m in. Always a good time for a project based on Love!

  11. Louise Watson says:

    Yes please I would like to take part in this too!

  12. Rene says:

    Oh, what a wonderful special idea! Are you only posting locally or would you do overseas as well? I live in England. My details are:-Rene Walkin, 2 Peaches Bungalows, Peaches Garage. Upper Bucklebury. Reading RG7 6QU Berkshire, England. If you are interested, that is. I will think of you and your friend sharing a bottle of wine over the first cut! I love it!

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Rene))) thank you for joining this circle of cloth conjurors from all around the world, I will be going to the post office with the first bundle of pennants tomorrow morning!

  13. I haven’t sewn more than ten stitches in the last two years but I would LOVE to be part of this enterprise and honored to be it must be said.

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Michelle))) Madeleine & I talked about how some people may not be able to stitch anything into the cloth & if that happens, just place the cloth in your dreaming space to incubate and when it’s full of good vibes, hopes and dreams send it back & it will work

  14. Judy Martin says:

    I dream of a world where love is the answer. The title of this post drew me in – and your beautiful egg shell boat kept me. I DO believe in love – I DO dream – …xoxoxo to you dear Mo.

  15. shemann says:

    I would love to help you!

  16. this is SO GREAT…i knew you would dream the DREAM for this dress….just so great….
    it is the greatest thing in this moment….oh….EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEeeeeeeeeeee

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Grace))) I will send you a pennant to feel the light on your raft in the desert and then to travel on with you all the way to California! It will take awhile to surface as you have a lot to do in the next year with moving and settling into the new space but even just one tiny stitch when it does would be so magic!

      • i hope there will be time for it to arrive….the earliest for Going would be July 18th or 19th???
        But…we can Trust…i will fill out the forward mail card at the PO here….
        OR
        should have a P.O. Box in the new place soon….??????
        would be so great tho, if it traveled…..
        BIG LOVE to you….

  17. beth says:

    It’s exciting seeing this take shape Mo. I would say yes… if you have enough pieces and aren’t expecting “pretty”. Love feels like a tiny flame in a sea of darkness these days. My hope is that will be enough.

  18. snicklefritzin43 says:

    Please oh please include me in the challenge. Not since the blocks for the Charleston Quilt Project Dee organized have I felt such a pull to be a part of this bigger whole.
    Kristin

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Kristen))) thank you for coming aboard, just finished cutting up the wedding dress, amazed by all the fine details and the luscious hand of the satin and found the tiniest pin ever I think it fell out of the big bow on the back, will start posting the pennants out when the post office opens in another 3 hours

  19. Margaret Johnson says:

    Hey Mo, would love to be included. Have stitched a lot of covered buttons and rouleau loops in my day!! Lovely idea Mo…..ox

  20. Glenda says:

    I would love to be part if this. I have not stitched in years but reading about this has reawakened the love I have for the feeling a piece of wonderful, vintage fabric in my hands. If you still have pennants left please send me your email to ggchamberlain@yahoo.com so I can send you my address. I am in Cape Coral Florida USA.
    Peace and Love. Glenda

  21. Mo ?
    ( would be so proud)

  22. Kathy dorfer says:

    Yes please !

  23. Glenda says:

    Yep, I’m in

please leave a reply

