Once in a Blue Moon

Posted: May 24, 2017 by Mo Crow in Braille for the Soul, It's Crow Time
Tags: , , ,

the beginnings of a Blue Moon in that electric blue leather
a photo of the moon with the contrast increased by 70% to emphasize the details
details traced onto drafting film
tried stitching through the drafting film but the result was not good, couldn’t see what I was stitching so I went into town to get some white dressmaker’s carbon which didn’t work at all on suede (should have read the instructions…)
used a pyrography tool to burn the image into the leather
getting to know the surface of the moon
detail of the rough stitching made through the drafting film in contrast to the surface detail made with the pyrography tool
ready to start stitching for real
detail of fine stitching on the edge
this may take quite some time…
the concept was inspired by Judy Martin’s fabulous Ito Moon
I was sort of hoping to loosen up my mark making by scaling up but the marks are as small & detailed as ever…
here’s some sketches
that sea urchin/pod form on the right is simmering on the back burner, thinking  it could be quite large and made out of this blue leather too…
love the thought of a retractable ladder like Rapunzel

Comments
  1. deemallon says:

    oh my god is this ever going to be cool. stitching through leather sounds like a bit of a drag, though?

    • Mo Crow says:

      the suede is thin and softish so it’s not too bad, working it with a stab backstitch at this stage but things will change as I go, using a reel of very pale silver blue vintage cotton sewing thread gifted from Margaret Johnson

  2. Eliene says:

    This is such a magical colour……looking forward to seeing it progress.

    • Mo Crow says:

      that electric blue suede is from Madeleine of Artsite Gallery, she bought it back in the 80’s to make a 3/4 length jacket along with a beautiful bolt of pale blue silk for the lining, I plan on making quite a lot of blue things with it!

  3. You GOT me immediately with that COLOR – whew. It is SO electric! Yes, I think it will take some goodly time indeed given the intricacy of your marks. And, I had to admire your stick to it with finding a transfer medium. I just remembered I have a whole bunch of four inch oval sewing frames.

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Michelle))) woke up this morning to this wonderful line from Jane Hirshfield-
      “Much of beauty, both in art and in life, is a balancing of the lines of forward-flowing desire with those of resistance — a gnarled tree, the flow of a statue’s draped cloth.”
      on Maria Papova’s Brain Pickings

  4. Susan Hemann says:

    how wonderful, am excited to see your progress

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Susan))) thinking as I’m stitching one tiny s-l-o-w stitch at a time about how taking the time to slow down and listen lets the magic in and when I don’t slow down that’s when I get my knickers in a knot… always…

  5. Nancy says:

    Wow! This is really something! My friend’s husband posts the most amazing moon photos on fb, this reminds e. You are so wonderful with detail and stick-to-it-ness…can’t wait to follow along.

  6. fiberels says:

    Wow that looks so special ! What a task ! The blue leather is gorgeous, Mo !!!!
    YES, love the moon by Judy !

  7. You crazy woman! What a joyous project, problems notwithstanding.

  8. Hazel says:

    OH… MY… Mo! Watching with eyes as big as saucers!

  9. This is so amazing, Mo! I wondered if you would allow me to use it as the circle of the day, linking back to you, of course. I love to feature brilliant artists and unique works! Just email me a yay or nay! Thanks!

please leave a reply

