a sad Sea Urchin II

Posted: January 18, 2017 by Mo Crow in Braille for the Soul, It's Crow Time
Tags: , ,

sea-urchin-ii-mo17
Sea Urchin II
Mo 17
6cmW x 3.5cmH
needlelace over Whisper silk organza & boar bristles, French knots & glass beads
sadly overworked to a lumpy travesty of the form
sea-urchin-ii-back-mo17
it lost the delicate laciness and all those wispy edges
sea-urchin-ii-in-process-mo17
by trying too hard & hoping that if I just kept going it would work out in the end… it doesn’t …
sea-urchin
the good news is I was given this felted wool cardigan that a friend accidentally put in the washing machine
felted-wool-cardigan
it will be perfect for  Sea Urchin III
Braille for the Soul is the working title for my new body of work investigating what we read through the haptic sense of touch in stitch
the-gatheringthe misbegotten one looks happy sitting on the shelf with the Barrel of Fun

Comments
  1. dinahmow says:

    hmm…interesting concept, Mo.I look forward to seeing what you do.Tactile imagery!

  2. ravenandsparrow says:

    Yes, I see what you mean, especially comparing the finished urchin with the work in process. Sometimes the end product really subverts one’s intentions in surprising ways, but as a lesson I’m betting your buttoned down urchin will allow your future urchins to shine more brightly

    • Mo Crow says:

      I learned so much by taking it way too far & this is a year for exploration and pushing edges, the felt will be a delight as I want to work at a bigger scale

  3. Liz A says:

    It looks wondrous from here, but touch and dimensionality don’t translate well to cyber-viewing. Lucky us that we get to go along for the ride as I’m especially intrigued by how a felted sweater fits in to the mix!

    • Mo Crow says:

      I will make the pattern and cut out the pieces after the Southerly Buster comes through & cools everything down this arvo, it’s HOT and it’s only 9am!

  4. Susan says:

    Just as Nature is unique in each of its creations, so are we and what we create in our hands and mind.

  5. astounding creations in that last photograph!
    Your attention to detail work is always a wonder to me.

  6. fiona says:

    I think sometimes are our own harshest critics Mo. I see this as an urchin, a fully formed and realised urchin. It mustn’t be what you thought it would be, but in a way, it simply is what it is. Don’t be too tough on yourself and absolutely go forth and make Urchin III! Time making art is never wasted…

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Fiona))) just wish I had photographed the beautiful moment when it was just stitched together & still had all the bristly wispy bits, it looked like a wild moon… there will be another lace one in this series which will be a moon not an urchin… & about being our own best critics, we are, that’s part of the creative process, we have to push at the edges of good taste and make some truly awful dead on arrival things to find the beauty, I always think of the 1985 film Blade Runner when it’s time to let something go, the dark beauty of Roy Batty’s final scene-
      “I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain. Time to die.”

  7. “as i want to work at a bigger scale”……o, eeeeeeeeeeee

    • Mo Crow says:

      this misbegotten one is so fussily Victorian, it reeks of spinster aunt busywork (not dismissing fine old Victorian lace but still there is something about it that is too … fussy) the next one is nearly a foot across! have cut out all the felt and will start stitching the edges this morning!

  8. A moon urchin, a big fat moon urchin . . . I’m waiting. And summer? It hasn’t stayed here for more than a day or two.

    • Mo Crow says:

      just cut the felted cardigan into 10 diamond shapes (like a flattened beach ball), such beautiful soft stuff, the needle glides through like butter, it’s been so bloody hot here, my brain melted down yesterday, the southerly buster finally kicked in at dusk and it’s a lot cooler today!

  9. ‘keep on keeping on’ – Curtis Mayfield … There is such beauty in this blog you do as a creative process and you share for us to see…

  10. handstories says:

    While I think it is rich and beautiful, and would love to hold and feel it, I understand what you are feeling. I seem to overwork most of my paintings these days, think I’m enjoying the process too much, and then there was that ship last week that needed sinking in the end.

  11. beth says:

    What maker hasn’t experienced that point of… I should have stopped… back there. I love that you are continuing though. You will come to understand so much about the sea urchin.

    • Mo Crow says:

      cameras and scanners help a lot with recording process but I forgot to photograph this one in that brief moment when it worked before it turned in on itself… I need to do some bigger drawings as well as making this big (close to a foot in diameter) Sea Urchin III, also want to use some fatter threads, bigger needles and am inspired to try working blindfolded by Leonie Andrews latest post

  12. perlhuhn52 says:

    I understand what you mean it had lost its airiness but for me not its “sea urchiness”. It seemes to be heavy in contrast to the other things you create usually. From my point of view heavy has its good sides too in the meaning of strong.

    • Mo Crow says:

      thank you Doris, sometimes how I think something should turn out gets in the way of seeing what’s really happening, yesterday I nearly trashed the rough beginnings of Sea Urchin III and then stopped myself… remembering to slow down, gently touch the surface and listen to the urchin!

  13. jude says:

    your sense of detail amazes me.

  14. it’s so beautiful but the natures gifts is perfect in it’s self
    but your version is pure beauty Mo, don’t diminish it
    dagdag

  15. saskia says:

    am curious to see where this new project will lead you…..

  16. Robyn says:

    Oh my word! I’ve just discovered your sea urchin posts and am blown away. No spinster aunt busywork here. You are amazing Mo. I’m inspired!

please leave a reply

