Honesty

Posted: October 17, 2016 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags: , , ,

honesty-front-mo16Honesty Mo 16
stitched under the influence of Jude Hill’s SunMoonStars
indigo dyed old linen from Jude Hill, rotted silk, hemp string, Whisper silk organza, cotton gauze, string, thread
H33cm x W14cm
moon-detail-mo-16Moon detail
ladder-frontladder detail
honesty-detail-mo16
Honesty detail
honesty-back-mo16the back !
honesty-moon-back-detail-mo16the back of the moon
honesty-ladder-back-detail-mo16a personal constellation
honesty-back-detail-mo16I want to frame it with dried Honesty, will go out to to the flower markets early Wednesday morning but may have to wait til autumn.

Comments
  1. sarah says:

    I love this so very much!!!

  2. Front or back it’s delicious . . . And I love the way the moon looks like it’s flying off, as if it contains so much electricity that it can’t be contained.

  3. I started counting stitches three different times and finally gave up. It’s gorgeous and, though I gather ‘honesty’ refers to the common name of some plant, I thought immediately of how much honesty is at issue in our politics over here.

  4. Please frame so you can see the back as well, lovely.

  5. margaret johnson says:

    Oh Mo, I’m totally blown away by this piece!!! A favourite plant of mine, I used to grow Honesty and sell it it to florist shops, back in the 80’s. I wish I could conjure up the words to say how beautiful this is!!! ox

  6. margaret johnson says:

    PS I could send you some seeds?? Maybe you could grow some at home in a large pot? Or if I get some in the garden this year, I will send you some, for the frame……ox

    • Mo Crow says:

      Hi again Margaret, maybe I could try an autumn sowing direct in a free draining rich potting mix in the perfect northeast facing protected position with a little added lime? did you grow any last year with that hot fiery summer?

  7. Eliene says:

    This is so alive…and inviting. I also see a crow with a hat within your own constellation. I think this is sooo beautiful.

  8. Laurie says:

    I’m in love with this one. Front and back.

  9. beth says:

    Oh Mo, that’s dreamy. You interpreted the plant so well that at first I thought you had actually stitched plants to the cloth.

  10. Stephanie says:

    This is absolutely stunning. Growing up in Indiana, we always called Honesty “money plant” because we used the seed pods as play money. Now I usually call it by its botanical name “Lunaria,” which seems appropriate for your gorgeous moon.

    • Mo Crow says:

      if you look closely at the stardust at the base of the right hand leg of the ladder you will see Lunaria stitched in white (I’m a horticulturist & botanical illustrator)

      • Stephanie says:

        Thank you, I can see it now! We have white lunaria in the garden now; it will bloom next summer (coastal Northern California). Your work always captivates, and this one is mesmerizing.

  11. This is so beautiful. I have hardly started Jude’s class yet.

  12. snicklefritzin43 says:

    this is wonderfully executed. I love every part of it. A truly well chosen path for the work with sun, moon and stars. I could just sit and take in the beauty for hours.
    Kristin

  13. Julie Banks says:

    Beautiful, Mo- love the simplicity and translucence of Honesty, and the ladder is wonderful!

  14. perlhuhn52 says:

    This is so beautiful!!! Doris

  15. handstories says:

    Oh, Mo…this is so very much everything! I could look at it for days & moons on end…

  16. shiborigirl says:

    a good dream. i share it. fantastic!

  17. Midori says:

    Oh this is wonderful — so very evocative. I love the delicacy of the stitches!

  18. debgorr says:

    Oh this is so incredibly gorgeous. It feeds my dreams…

  19. Susan says:

    This piece is filled with electric energy. Radiating.

  20. deemallon says:

    it holds your signature and yet feels brand new.

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Dee))) tried to source some dried Honesty out at the Flower Markets yesterday to frame it but it’s gone out of fashion here in Oz, will try to grow it with an ice cube mulch on the hot days!

  21. Susan Hemann says:

    stunning work! love the transparency, i have a bunch of honesty that I dried, awaiting inspiration- it is almost there and of course Jude’s work!

  22. saskia says:

    fly me to the moon, love this one Mo, so very light and spacious

  23. sue kluber says:

    wow-this is so beautiful!

  24. nancy krampf says:

    am totally mesmerized. i want to climb that ladder .
    i believe u have unlocked the door to my creative block.
    thanks mucho. 🙂

please leave a reply

