Artisans in the Gardens

Posted: October 16, 2016 by Mo Crow in art exhibitions, It's Crow Time
Tags: , , ,

flannel-flowers-actinotus-helianthiiFlannel Flowers Actinotus helianthi greeted us at the gates of the Sydney Royal Botanic Gardens
flowerheads-al-phemister“Flowerheads” by Al Phemister
steel spoons and bicycle spokes
pamela-pudandelicate ceramics by Pamela Pudan
you can see lots more photos of Artisans in the Gardens here
and if you are anywhere near Sydney don’t miss Florilegium at the Museum of Sydney
the video in the link is a wonderful insight into the art of botanical illustration
florilegium-book

Comments
  1. dinahmow says:

    Love it. Thanks for being my eyes again. 🙂

  2. Carol says:

    Wonderful! Love the flannel flowers but also think I’m in love with those flowers made from spoons…

  3. coloremartine says:

    Flowers under the full moon, how lovely.
    I’ve put my stones in the moonshine and would have liked to lay beside them all night but it’s too cold……………….

  4. Oh my…a tasty treat and LINKS I am going to LOVE. Thank you Mo.

  5. PS….During my three years at the Bronx Botanical Garden here in New York, while getting my gardening certificate, I took many courses in botanical drawing, in fact finished all the requisites for another certificate save the final project. It was a joyful time for me, having access to plants over long periods of time. Haven’t painted that way since. My ability to focus on detail has diminished.

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Michelle)) ah the cataracts… I’m on a wait list… we share so many parallels in this journey! I worked as a gardener at the Sydney Botanic Gardens from 1990-1993 then in 94 left to start Memo Garden Services with Old Man Crow and freelanced in botanical illustration for the interpretive signage in parklands for Randwick, Hunters Hill & North Sydney Councils. At the turn of the century I stopped doing commission work and have been happily collaborating with Old Man Crow ever since. Our next project is seeking beauty…

  6. fiberels says:

    Wow, special Mo !!!
    The “real” ones are so cute !
    The artificial ones are beautiful …

    (wow 200 years !)

  7. debgorr says:

    Oh those metal flowers! I’ve seen something similar here. I really should get my dad to teach me to weld.

  8. Julie Banks says:

    Looks wonderful, especially the metal flowers- can’t wait to get there!

  9. Kristen says:

    Wow!!!! Love this!!

please leave a reply

