a spring clean and a favourite old moon

Posted: September 26, 2016 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags: , , , , ,

spring-cleanthis tatty old veneer table which fits so perfectly under the window was getting horribly grubby, the at least 40 year old sealer was getting gross so I spent a few hours this morning scraping and sanding then whacked a coat of paint on it, much brighter!
Just killing time ’til we go up to the gallery at 4 to pull down the rest of the Crow Show.
Enjoying Jude Hill considering ideas, catching them on the fly with her astute observations as they move through her and watching how they flow…
that got me thinking about my favourite old moon
letter-f-mo-2007“The Letter F” Mo 2007 from An illuminated Book of Cats
and the stars
Aquarius Mo1999“Aquarius” Mo 1999 from the Celestial Times Zodiac Series
and how my beautiful friend Carol’s face appeared in the moon of Truth the day she died
35--Truth-webthere is much to reflect on in this search for Beauty in our wild 21st C world

Comments
    • Mo Crow says:

      yes remembering…with this beautiful poignant poem from
      A Thousand Shards of Glass
      by Michael Katakis

      I’ve kept a lock of your
      Hair and some of your dust
      As a talisman, protection
      From the memories, like a
      Siren’s songs that deceive and
      Rust

      You were my True North
      My bearings, my home, but
      Death, envious of our course
      Folded you into his silence
      Setting me adrift without she
      Who was my map, my love

      I bring what you are with me,
      To London and Rome, to the
      Greek lemon hills you loved and
      Into the Ligurian Sea where once,
      Amid the Dancing Stars, we bathed

      You are everywhere, my silent
      Traveling companion

  1. vdbolyard says:

    good that you have jude’s inspiration to counterart the hollowness after all of the huge effort you and your man have been through. i do wish i could have been in town to stop by and enjoy the doings!

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Velma))) it feels amazing to have the Crow Show done and dusted, not hollow at all! we are both feeling full of the wonder and grateful to Madeleine for the opportunity to fill her gallery with crows, music and magic for 3 weeks!

  2. Els says:

    We all get inspired by Jude 😉
    Love your F(avorite) CAT (the “E” is in my book case !!!)

    Beautiful and sad poem

    Happy spring, Mo !

  3. coloremartine says:

    Watching the old moon through that lovely window……………dreamy……….

  4. Depth of feeling is just one of your fine talents. Wrapping my head around your Spring as I haul out the sweater bag. The wind tonight was meaningful. Love to you two.

  5. fiona says:

    I love the f moon Mo – and the beauty in Truth and the poem you shared – sitting quietly and remembering folk. Thank you.

  6. Julie Banks says:

    Loved your exhibition and it was wonderful to see you in your element! What a beautiful poem, thanks for sharing.

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Julie))) it was so good to catch up! have everything back home from the Crow Show & posted off the 2 drawings to go interstate yesterday (x fingers they arrive safe and sound), feels amazing to be free with no plans for anything except a loose concept Roderick up with on Sunday night (after a few ales) of searching for Beauty… not a bad way to spend the time we have left!

  7. Carol says:

    F is definitely one of my favourites… Amongst all my other faves of your work. I love the thought of you and Roderick searching for beauty. If anyone can find it, it will be you two.

please leave a reply

