lost the plot

Posted: June 16, 2016 by Mo Crow in art exhibitions, It's Crow Time
Tags:

lost-the-plotYikes! yesterday was one of those days when I really should have stayed home!
went into town to see 3 exhibitions, feeling out of sorts, like a shambolic, irrelevant dinosaur from last century but all the work was brilliant & inspiring
Infectious Ideas at Stanley Street Gallery
Margarita Sampson’s delightfully mad altered chairs are fabulous
Jane Frances Reilly’s Conversations no 10 at Courtesy of the Artist
a fabulously cohesive body of work combining her background in ceramics with metalwork
made with deep thought beautifully realized

Akiko Ikeuchi at the Japan Foundation Gallery
Akiko’s exquisitely ethereal vessels touched my soul with a deeply delicate touch
here’s a link to more of her work
then I hopped on the bus which nearly hit a woman who walked right in front of it whilst talking on her phone, feeling even shakier I went to the grocery store, got to the checkout and couldn’t find my wallet… emptied the contents of my bag onto the floor, it wasn’t there… got home, emptied the bag again… it still wasn’t there, rang around the galleries to see if I had left it anywhere… hadn’t… so I melted down… totally… recovered a bit, did some chores, then needing my glasses to do the bookwork, looked in my bag for said glasses and my wallet had magically reappeared…
WTF? a senior moment ? domestic blindness? hysteria? madness?
pleased to say that so far I have only burned the frying pan this morning…
x fingers today will be a better day…

Comments
  1. dinahmow says:

    Knowing that you found your wallet, I can chuckle at your dither! But the chuckle is tempered with many “been there, done that” events.
    Apropos of nothing…I’ve found my wristwatch, after months of believing it had fallen off in the street somewhere…

    • Mo Crow says:

      it’s good to know I am not alone but still wondering how I couldn’t see or feel a wallet covered in embroidered pansies that is that big!!!!

  2. Yes, some days I wonder what the point is, has everything gone by already and what’s the point . . . yes, I think it more than once. Today has started a bit like that but tomorrow, I know, it is quite likely to be completely different. Now if I could just nail down what the difference is . . . .

    • Mo Crow says:

      Sydney is getting so big and moving faster than ever with nearly 5 million people trying to get by… we’re still gardening for a living but don’t know how how much longer we can do it… may have to go up north and join the frontline to save the Great Barrier Reef! the good thing is the next little project is an accordion book made with grape vine tendrils & it’s coming along well, haven’t taken any process shots but it will be finished by the weekend and x fingers the Crow Book will get back from the printer next week as it will take two months to do the hand colouring & the lovely thing is if I never make anything more in this lifetime this will be enough.

      • “This will be enough.” I’m wondering what my ‘this’ is at the moment . . . I’m going to need to do some writing and then something repetitive and relatively mindless, to quiet the thinking, to give my intuitive self a chance to speak.

        I’ll look forward to seeing both books.

        • Mo Crow says:

          I have been making art (not always good) since I was 5, it’s a habit… will stop when my hands and eyes won’t work any more but have often dreamed of just stopping like Duchamp when he retired from making art to play chess. I’m no good at chess but still need to find a few years to read the metaphysical poets of the 17th C and all the classics I haven’t read yet! Great Expectations, War & Peace, Crime & Punishment, etc etc

  3. ravenandsparrow says:

    The Mystery of the Disappearing Wallet…the next Nancy Drew title. I know these mystifying moments. Maybe they are folds in the space/time continuum? I can’t think of any other explanations.

  4. Julie Banks says:

    Glad you found your wallet- lost count of the times I’ve thought I’d lost things only to have them magically reappear! Looking forward to seeing the Crow Book! xxx 🙂

  5. grace says:

    just too much on your mind, maybe even too much in that one day….mind just
    shuts down sometimes

    • Mo Crow says:

      it does and yesterday I was deep in the zone with the making before heading into town, sometimes I’m just too spaced out to be in the “real” world… thank goodness we garden for a living, plants don’t mind!

  6. Jane Bodnaruk says:

    well, you have given me a plot – will go to both those exhibitions next week

  7. SO recognizable to me……gone then reappeared……it’s some sort of exhausted panic attack, and overload of stimuli can trigger it, as can just plain not enough sleep, and even not enough protein!

    Meanwhile, I’m listening to this from Joan Baez seventy fifth birthday concert…and so grateful for my life (and yours)…I was seventeen when I first heard her…now I’m seventy three!

  8. fiona says:

    Oh Mo – I hope today was less dramatic. Yesterday was horrid (but you saw great art!) Go well.

  9. saskia says:

    thx for the link to Jane Frances Reilly, wow really like her work,

    yikes for a day like yours though, I wish this weren’t a case of ‘been there done that’ but it sooooo is! hope today went much better!

    • Mo Crow says:

      Jane’s work is brilliant on so many levels + loved the steel walls at Courtesy of the Artist, they used magnets in little wooden wedges to hold her “shelves” in place for the “conversations”! & thanks yesterday was a much calmer place, it’s 2am on Friday morning, more pages are about to come together on the accordion book with a bit of gardening once the sun comes up and then it’s the weekend Hooray!

  10. Good to hear today is so much better. As we get older those moments seem to happen.

  11. Carol says:

    Mo, I’m sorry you had such a difficult day. I know the frustration of losing something that just miraculously appears again… But to have that stunning wallet vanish! I’d have been so freaked out! Those pansies are miraculously beautiful, thank goodness they chose to return to you! ((((Mo))))

please leave a reply

