The Doily of Atonement

Posted: May 14, 2016 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags:

The-Doily-of-Atonement-Mo-16“The Doily of Atonement” by Mo16
(thanks to Dana of Raven & Sparrow for naming this Act of Contrition)
Doily-of-Atonement-back-Mo-16on the back is our customer’s wry advice in response to my apology for swearing like a trooper at his mother-in-law’s upstairs neighbour a few weeks ago
“slowly count to 10… then you can tell them to get f….d”
wish I had been more bold with stitching the backside inspired by the wonderful women over at the Profanity Embroidery Group in Whitstable UK
thankfully we didn’t lose two of our best gardening jobs because we have very tolerant & understanding customers with a good sense of the absurd

Comments
  1. handstories says:

    This is just Grand. There’s something going on in the universe, I think, I seem to have lost sight of my best self this week.

  2. Eliene says:

    I had words with Kat”s aunty this past week too. Didn’t swear but that took a lot of self control I must admit altho I did raise my voice to her ……

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Eliene))) it was really quite fun doing the stitching, that two years at a Catholic Girl’s School is showing, I had to do Sewing (along with Deportment & something to do with how to look after babies but certainly not how they get made) in second form… I was the worst student in the class!

  3. fiona says:

    I so enjoyed your first post on this – and like the second even more! What a great pair to do work for!

  4. Eliene says:

    In 1st form I spent 2 terms making an apron….it would be a close finish. Thanks for the memory tho…that was more fun than actually making the apron.

    • Mo Crow says:

      hehe! getting through high school to fifth form took forever… it was such a relief to drop out to go to art school in ’73, again in ’76 & finally got the the BA in Visual Arts ’89, a long strange trip indeed!

  5. Carol says:

    It’s a great story, Mo, and you have atoned royally.

please leave a reply

