Act of Contrition

Posted: May 11, 2016 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time, Lace
Tags: ,

Act-of-Contrition-Mo16Act of Contrition (aka the Doily of Atonement) Mo16
vintage doily indigo dyed by Jude Hill of Spirit Cloth
laser cut star from Els of Fibre Rainbow
indigo dyed thread from Glennis of Shibori Girl
stitched with navy Gütterman upholstery thread
a quote attributed to Bill Murray
“Everything happens for a reason.
Sometimes that reason is you’re stupid and make bad choices.”
recently I behaved very inappropriately and nearly lost two of our best gardening customers
it’s all smoothed over but had to stitch this today to pay my dues…

& there’s plenty of room for further embellishments for the next time I lose the plot!

when I’m dead and gone and all my bits and pieces end up in an op shop (aka thrift shop for those readers in the US)
I wonder what they will make of this one?
!

Comments
  1. The person who buys it will probably do so because they want to remind themselves not to do it again . . . well, not too often anyway. Glad to hear things are smoothed over.

  2. saskia says:

    this one brings a smile to my face, which is always good news; love BillMurray, I like to think he did say it.

    • Mo Crow says:

      he always makes me laugh, was chuckling all day stitching the words & believe it or not I was trying to be neat & make a proper job of it!

  3. Brilliant—if you get any warning before the dead and gone part, mail this one to me. It is the story-at least part of the story of my life :–>

  4. Liz A says:

    Love how the lettering came out … serifs and all!

    Honestly, every politician out there should have one of these (with a few rare exceptions) … except they wouldn’t get it most likely.

    • Mo Crow says:

      wish I had laid the lettering out with a bit more thought rather than relying on enthusiasm & politicians? let’s hope empathy emerges soon for the sake of our planet

  5. jude says:

    i love just thinking about that moment

    • Mo Crow says:

      & I wonder if all those doily makers of the Victorian era wondered what people would make of their work in the future? & isn’t it funny how so many of the younger stitchers of today say their work is not like what your grandmother or old auntie made… well I am old enough to be a grandmother these days and hope my messy stitching doesn’t make the original maker roll in her grave!

  6. glad that you make even with the garden people and for the future opshop buyers…..it will be a sigh of an angel who can be not an angel..a cat woman

  7. ravenandsparrow says:

    I’m laughing already. This Doily of Atonement reverberates with rueful humor. It carries the antimacassared past through the embarrassed present into the opshopped future.

please leave a reply

