for the love of horses, looking back to 1970

Posted: May 6, 2016 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time, music
Tags:

Moxmas1969xmas 1969 with nearly $150 saved to buy my dream horse babysitting and ironing for my Mom’s friends
when the what if became when
a.HowtoDrawHorsesI loved this book
4-Seasons-Ila-McFee4 Seasons by Ila McFee
aaaequitation“Equitation” by Henry Wynmalen was my bible
AlbumofHorsesI know every painting in “The Album of Horses” illustrated by Wesley Dennis by heart
lipp“Lipizzaner” by Wesley DennisAnderson1967-45 “The Complete Book of Horses and Horsemanship” by CW Anderson
MareandfoaCWA“Mare and Foal” by CW Anderson
his drawings were a huge inspiration
MoandStormy1971the dream came true, Mo and Stormy at a gymkhana in 1971
Stormy1973webMo and Stormy in 1973
HorseCarolwebour friend Carol was a horse girl too
sketch from our first book collaboration “The Visitor”
carousel-horsethese days I dream of carousel horses, cats and crows
In 1970 I was 15 years old, had just moved to Australia, Jimi Hendrix and Janis Joplin died but their music lives on… here’s some nostalgia from back then
Janis Joplin “Piece of My Heart” 1968
Jimi Hendrix “Little Wing” Stockholm 1968
Blind Faith “Can’t find my way Home” 1969
Joni Mitchell singing “Both Sides Now” 1970
James Taylor “Fire & Rain” 1970
with thanks to Jude Hill of Spirit Cloth who brought Greatful Dead’s “Ripple” to mind this morning in her post & Hazel of Handstories post evoked “Teach Your Children Well” by Crosby Still Nash & Young

Comments
  1. jstockler says:

    I used to take all those same books out of the library every week but no one in the Jewish suburbs of Detroit would ever take my dreams seriously! I did get Pia when I was 33, just to prove them wrong! And PS, I wrote Marguerite Henry a letter when I was in 5th grade, she answered me with photo of her and Brightly (mule of Grand Canyon fame)!!

    How does it feel looking at you and Stormy taking the rail fence?

    • Mo Crow says:

      Hey (((Julie))) you’re a horse girl too, you’re photo of Marguerite Henry and her burro must be one of your greatest treasures. I gave the last horse away when I turned 30, along with the farm, the kind but boring man and the beautiful handmade house to go to art school… Stormy & I loved jumping!

  2. beth says:

    Oh wow, do I ever know those books. CW Anderson, Marguerite Henry, & Wesley Dennis… I’m pretty sure I read all the Marguerite Henry books at least once. That particular dream never manifested for me although I had a friend with horses and we would ride together. Love seeing you flying through the air.

  3. grace says:

    their lips and the sound of their nostrils breathing…..i had those books and o
    i drew and drew and drew.
    Bought a horse at 19. a lot of memory here….

    • Mo Crow says:

      love the sharing of breath with horses, the scent of grass & oats and how they enjoy having that hollow under the chin scratched and behind the ears. I haven’t ridden a horse for years but the muscle memory is still there keeping my back straight, shoulders back, heels down!

  4. ravenandsparrow says:

    I loved every one of these books. I still have my Album of Horses. I longed incessantly for a horse of my own and made a pest of myself with the people who had them. After years of catch as catch can riding I finally began to take lessons in college and continued until about 1980. One night I had to choose between my lesson and finishing a project for a very demanding teacher due the next day. I chose the project and never returned to the stable.
    You’re right…the scent of a horse is perfume indeed.

  5. Mo, I recognize some of these books and drawings from my childhood; horses were my favorite subject matter for drawing. I’m glad you actually got to have a horse of your own. I begged and begged my dad for years to let me have one, but to no avail. We had 40 acres and even a barn – sheesh! Can you tell I have trouble letting this go? lol

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Sharmon))) I wish I still had all the drawings of horses but I made a pyre of all my drawings and paintings up to the age of 22 and burnt them in a wild mood, very freeing at the time but there are some regrets…

  6. Liz A says:

    That you made your dream a reality speaks volumes …

    • Mo Crow says:

      the other big dream from back then was living with a horse like Wilbur Post and Mr Ed and that one came true too! I shared an old dairy with a beautiful grey Arab stallion named Misrif for a couple of years in the early 80’s. I helped out on the farm 7 days a week in return for free rent which gave me a finer appreciation of what is truly “free” & I make sure we always find houses to rent that are the equivalent of one day of work per week.

  7. Me too…..as an adolescent.I dreamed horse and rider me while looking out the car window on long trips, charting our course over and under – and, I rode my bed turned carriage as a young child with a team of ponies I imagined taking us through the night. I argued, though we lived in a three room apartment, that we might stable a small pony in the bathtub, and I could ride to and from school in the suburbs. Ha! As a teen I found a stable and used whatever pocket money I was given to ride now and then. So it went right through my twenties till the horse dream faded into the theater dream and that into …..dreaming life.

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Michelle))) we get many lives in this one lifetime as a wise friend said years ago. Old Man Crow is relieved that I left the horse dreaming back in the bush half a lifetime ago & we’re both happy being Ariel P. Cat’s people.

  8. it is surprising that lot of ragmates have horse dreams
    i worked in the stable nearby to get a free ride to the beach now and then. at last my parents gave me money for ?.? dressure ?? lessons….but bareback riding with just my voice and movements was my fav. almostall of your books i had too and on every snippet i draw horses
    black beauty etcetc
    Frysians were my favorit
    Mo…all those memories…love them! thanks

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Yvette))) oh yes the subtle intimacy of dressage, Stormy could do the passage & flying changes bareback with no bridle, he was one of the great loves of my life!

  9. handstories says:

    Love that first nostalgic photo of you! I didn’t do the horse thing, but was friends with those who did, remembering the Misty books & how much I loved “Both Sides Now”

    • Mo Crow says:

      that photo is the farewell to the innocence of youth and the beginning of realizing the wild dreaming, we change so much between 14 and 18 and now that I am 61 & Old Man Crow is nearly 69 the radical changes are coming in thick and fast again!

  10. Carol says:

    Lovely to read of your horsy past, Mo! Those are wonderful photos of you and Stormy. My son, aged 48, has just got his first horse, to my amazement, but he’s fallen in love with this big fellow and is loving riding. Never too old, apparently…

please leave a reply

