making a box for The Hands of Fate

Posted: February 2, 2016 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags: , ,

handmade-boxthe late 1800’s steamer tray trunk from Drunk on the Moon was too warped and stained for The Hands of Fate so I made a box out of craftboard and PVA glue
processand started covering the surface with my much loved  42 year old copy of The Gardener’s Catalogue
The-Gardeners-Catalogue-1974this book has seen me through so many changes, the paper is brittle and worn & so am I… working on the floor for three days was fun but yikes! every muscle and bone started complaining yesterday, I was surprised as I loved working on the floor in my bedroom in a series of share houses right up until my late 20’s!
workspacemoved everything to my bench & it’s so much easier!
The-Hands-of-Fate-inside-of-boxinside of the box covered in favourite images and words
The-Hands-of-Fate-box-underneathunderneath in process
The-Hands-of-Fate-ribbon& started stitching some very old rotted silk to a wide ribbon
which will be embroidered with The Hands of Fate

Comments
  1. margaret johnson says:

    Looking SCRUMPTIOUS Mo, love all those old gardening images!! Don’t do anything on the floor theses days, as I CAN’T get up again. The old grey mare sure, ain’t what she used to be. many long years ago!! ox

    • Mo Crow says:

      that old book is such a treasure and so are you Marg! I am loving the process of tearing each little leaf and flower out and reconstructing the image tonally, it’s a very intuitive thing to do. I have secretly feared working in collage as I have seen so many older artists resort to it as a technique once their hands get too stiff for painting or sculpting but what the heck, it’s a means to an end & surprisingly fun!

  2. Liz says:

    love watching over your shoulder

  3. grace says:

    THIS is Magnificant!!!!!!!! say more about the rotted silk please?

  4. Stephanie says:

    Every part of this is looking so beautiful, Mo. The rotted silk looks like a dream to work with.

  5. ravenandsparrow says:

    That Gardener’s Catalog is indeed a treasure. I love the tonal agedness of the compiled box collage. This is great to watch…but yeah, sit in a chair.

    • Mo Crow says:

      this 60 year old body has recovered but gosh I was sore for a few days, every muscle got a work out, who would have thought collaging a box could be so physical?

  6. Ha, i know all about the dodgy knees! This is looking wonderful.

  7. Liz says:

    What a wonderful reuse of this book … I love that it has transcended its bound form

  8. Julie Banks says:

    I love that you’re giving the Gardener’s Catalogue new life – it looks fantastic! I know what you mean about the body- we’re in the middle of a trip to South Australia and Kangaroo Island, sleeping in different beds nearly every night and walking a lot more than I’ve been used to and my body is protesting every morning! Hopefully the muscles will remember how to cope!

  9. That box is truly a work of art, Mo; I love all the vintage images. “The Hands of Fate” will look fantastic in it. I still do a lot of my collage work on the floor, but I have to admit it’s not as comfortable as it used to be!

    • Mo Crow says:

      thanks for the encouragement Sharmon, this was a wake up call to work more often on the floor just to stay limber, have rediscovered muscles I had completely forgotten about, never realized collage was so physical!

  10. coloremartine says:

    So many beautiful things, its going to be gorgeous……it already is……………..

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Martine))) it’s ready to be waxed, have a test strip waiting for the glue to set enough to find out which of these three fixatives will works best- Dorland’s Wax, Jo Sonja sealer or Golden matte medium, it’s exciting!

  11. Carol says:

    Your box is looking magnificent, Mo! It is exciting to see the gloves finding a beautiful home.

  12. saskia says:

    love your collage and love that catalogue!

please leave a reply

