of leaves and kings

Posted: October 5, 2015 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time, magic
Tags: ,

3-kings-web-Mo15These leaf kings appeared with the help of a glass of wine or three, some black ink, white gouache, gold silk casings, boar bristles, vintage Silkworm thread and some old lace over a few days last weekend on a contact print made with eucalyptus leaves on Moulin de Larroque handmade watercolour paper by Bronwyn Berman.

I thought it might make a good print for this year’s xmas card but it didn’t so it’s back to the drawing board…

Comments
  1. I love this so much Mo. I have been back to the picture over and over again. It is lyrical.

  2. Beautiful, pity it doesn’t make a good print.

  3. Patricia says:

    oh yeah–now these are what leaves can mean…

  4. Anita says:

    This is really beautiful. For me it has an other-wordly quality.

    • Mo Crow says:

      isn’t it funny how it really doesn’t work for me… perhaps the appeal is in the familiarity of seeing the various explorations of eco-dyed and contact printed cloths, felts and papers in our online community

  5. handstories says:

    I love how they exude light and wisdom and an ancientness…spirits.

  6. margaret johnson says:

    It’s true!! Beauty does lie in the eyes of the beholder!! Beautiful image Mo!!! Spirits, yes!! ox

  7. margaret johnson says:

    Oh, and I love the delicate touch of the gold silkworm casings!! ox

  8. first the eye operation, then been sick and away from the computer somewhat… Just got over here and went back a few looking including all the moons….hi sweetie.

  9. beth says:

    Oh Mo, I love this. Has a feel of Guardians to me.

  10. fiberels says:

    Mysterious, wise kings ! (and yóú made them 😉 ….!)

    • Mo Crow says:

      am still not that keen about finding faces in the leaves, clouds or walls… I do love emphasizing the lines of the leaves, next time I will focus on the true leafiness rather than the illusion/delusion

  11. deemallon says:

    well I will differ here — love the textures and feel of the piece — yes. To me, though, they look as tho they stand at strands of barbed wire. Are they on the free side or the imprisoned side? do they offer escape, judgment, or huddle in defiant powerlessness?

  12. Carol says:

    I love the image, Mo, I think the faces work here, though I normally would agree with you about faces. Your light touch has made something beautiful. However, you have to be comfortable with it…

    • Mo Crow says:

      I wrestled with how I was feeling about interfering with the integrity of the marks made by the leaves all weekend then Grace over at Windthread said it perfectly yesterday, to quote;
      “This is how it is for me with plant dyed cloth. It being impossible to use it as i would other cloth…the marks of the plants and their company being just So Much in and of themselves.”
      That’s it exactly, Mother Nature says it all so truly & perfectly.

please leave a reply

