Hair

Posted: October 3, 2015 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time, magic
Tags:

hair-memento-mori-buttona faded Victorian era memento mori button binding a lock of human hair of unknown origin
this week I caught up with one of my most inspiring artist friends Olga Cironis
Olga has used hair in her sculptural work for many years riding the edge of attraction and repulsion, one of my most poignant memories was watching her tiny hair boat flying free from the cliff below our house down into the harbour water on a dark and starless night in 1990 (25 years ago…)
Olga CironisOlga working on her hair weaving
Here’s a link to an interview where she discusses this work

Comments
  1. Thanks for the link – it’s a fascinating story, but working with hair , even the idea gives me the squirms. My problem, cause I like her approach and ideas.

  2. nadia says:

    Hi, Mo. The idea of stitching with your own hair is interesting–I like how you say “silver” when I call mine good ol’ white. Loved your poppies photos–wow! it’s springtime at your place. One forgets there are opposites. Well, as it’s in the 90s today, I’m not thinking much of about autumn…Thanks so much for stopping by regularly and commenting. It’s so appreciated.
    best, nadia

    • Mo Crow says:

      good to see you Nadia and your hair IS white, mine could be called ash blonde or dirty blonde to be less conceited, the silver strands are strong and surprisingly springy to work with!

  3. Carol says:

    Wonderful link, Mo, I really found that fascinating, and I find myself torn between loving what Olga is making, but not being sure I could wear that fabulous cloak. I think the fingernails are also a step too far for me, and yet I surround myself with far more gruesome things…

please leave a reply

