The Flighty Nature of Chance

Posted: September 22, 2015 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time, magic
Tags: ,

Flighty Nature of Chance Mo 1989The Flighty Nature of Chance is the recurring theme, the magic that makes this life worthwhile, I wrote an essay about it back in 2006, Jung explored it through his concept of synchronicity & Chrissie Hynde writes of it in her fierce brave autobiography;
“… How can we prove anything is arbitrary? Even what at first sight might appear the most arbitrary encounter can have lasting repercussions – like a car accident. Everything in nature lives according to some order so it seems unlikely that humans live outside this system, even if they try to resist their instincts. That’s how we can be sure we’re not animals, this refusal to abide by what we know is good for us. If an animal’s instinct tells him to avoid something he has no trouble giving it a wide berth. We, on the other hand, run in the direction of danger if it offers a thrill or satisfies a curiosity.
As far as my meeting Nick Kent goes, in fiction you probably wouldn’t include too many  coincidences like that because it would seem phony, too unlikely. In real life it happens all the time.”
from “Reckless” by Chrissie Hynde (Ebury Press 2015 pp 144-145)
Flighty Nature of Chance Mk3 Mo 2006
the more we pay attention to those strange connections the more they make their magic

Comments
  1. dinahmow says:

    And so many of us live long lives, never thinking about or understanding this…but chance rides on our shoulders.

    • Mo Crow says:

      every day is a 50/50 chance, love Keith Richards “Getting old is a fascinating thing. The older you get the older you want to be.” & deep thanks to all those wild brave musicians who helped define our lives, here’s a link to “Brass in Pocket” a song that helped me crawl out of a very deep hole when the muso I thought was my soul mate dropped me for the girl who “looked like the cover of a twenty dollar magazine”… along with Mental as Anything’s “If you leave me can I come too?” for the levity, looking back at those long hard nights that turned into a few wild years of soul searching I do love the freedom of being 60!

  2. Eliene says:

    Hey Mo..when I turned 50 I was expressing to a friend that I was not happy about it….her response was Hey, it just gets better from now. I remember I expressed disagreement with that statement and it did take a year or two but at some point early in my 50’s I had to say to that same friend that I felt she was right and as I have moved into my mid 60’s now I feel that is one of the truest statements that has ever been said to me. I love being me now & I can’t say I have always felt that way.

please leave a reply

