Zeitgeist

Posted: September 13, 2015 by Mo Crow in art exhibitions, It's Crow Time
Tags: ,

 zeitgeist (noun)
the defining spirit or mood of a particular period of history as shown by the ideas and beliefs of the time

It’s spring here in Sydney and there is so much art to see!
On Friday we visited The Other Art Fair
Shane Drinkwater 2015loved this brilliant painting of a strange yet familiar game with no rules by Shane Drinkwater 2015
(photo by Shane Drinkwater)
then yesterday I did a big gallery crawl from Paddington to the city, here’s some highlights
Yusuke Takemura
such sensitive integration of glass with nature by Yusuke Takemura
at Barometer Gallery
(photo by Yusuke Tamara)
Peter GodwinPeter Godwin Mountain/ Clouds recent works on paper
(photo by Defiance Gallery)

Let's-be-friends-until-we're-dead-Humyaraa card for Old Man Crow from Humyara at the Volume Book Art Fair
water-dragon-at-the-RBGthen to recover my sensibilities a friendly water dragon showed me around the fern house at the Royal Botanic Gardens
art and books are my passion in life but gardening soothes the soul

Comments
  1. Carol says:

    A delicious peek at what’s happening around Sydney – thanks Mo! And how fantastic to have your own personal guide around the Fern House!

  2. Thanks for the viewing. Love the glass and Peter Godwin’s work.

  3. It’s Spring in your part of the world, and nothing here is the least like Spring. The game without rules is stark and strange to me but I like the notion of it. Last night I cruised the river thanks to a friend with a ticket to share…danced with the young, and gazed at the two blue beams rising up into the sky memorializing the dead of World Trade Center 9.11.2001 for the fourteenth year. I wrote a short piece about my own experience on that day and posted at Face book….I’ll pass it along to you there. Today, I am a limping old lady again in recovery from too much fun 🙂

  4. dinahmow says:

    That Drinkwater game is intriguing; I think I’d need to see it and really look at it. And that’s a cute dragon! I miss all the dragons, although there are lots of goannas not far away. 🙂

  5. Liz says:

    Thank you for introducing me to Shane Drinkwater … I just visited his page and love how his marks and forms have the feel of stitch and cloth

please leave a reply

