P is for Process, Patience and Procrastination!

Posted: August 24, 2015 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags: , ,

leather-needle-in-processhere’s a photo of one of the very sharp leather needles Marg sent earlier this year
leather-working-needlesthey slide through the leather like butter
gardener-left-handslowly & tenderly over the next good while I will stitch the left hand glove with lots of tiny blue flowers, tendrils and leaves into all the seams to honour the gardening, making, writing & drawing this good hand has done for 60 years
dreamer-right-handand there will be hundreds of tiny stars stitched into the seams on the right hand glove to honour the dreaming hand.
The Hands of Fate will be exhibited in the Crow Show next year so there’s plenty of time to get them finished but all this amazing output is actually my way of procrastinating about finishing the final edit of “The illustrated lyrics of Old Man Crow” to take to the printer next week! I just need to go very carefully over each digital file and make sure all the information is correct ie size of file, greyscale, gutter allowance and find any more minute typos that may still be there!
crow-eye-amulet-in-processso there’s another crow amulet nearly finished
clean-stovethe stove top is sparkling clean & I fixed the rivet on the inner lid of the coffee basket, still need to write an e-mail to my Mom this morning… this is the great thing about Procrastination with a capital P, it keeps me almost civilized, when else would I fit in all the other things in life like housework, mending, correspondence with family & catching up with friends? … but all this putting the editing off has been going on for well over a week now so today is the day that I will get started on the editing…. x fingers!
PS here’s some pics of Crow Amulet 4 all finished
crow-amulet-4-eye-sidecrow-amulet-IIII
crow-eye-amulet-IIII
Crow Amulet 4 by Mo 15
black leather, glass, clay & bone beads, pentacle buttons, vintage ostrich feathers, linen and silk threads, beading cord
filled with raw red silk, rose petals, lavender, rosemary, lemon scented eucalyptus

NB haven’t started the editing yet but there’s still plenty of hours in the day!
PS have started the editing!

Comments
  1. dinahmow says:

    Y’know, I used to say I had only two faults, procrastination and impatience. But I’m coming to think that my procrastination is my brain’s way of sorting out the jumble of “things” in my head. Maybe I need to stitch something…

  2. julie says:

    The glove is exquisite, what an exquisite idea as well. When you’re done w the email to Mom, try sharpening all your pencils and throwing out pens that are dry. If that goes too fast, sort the spices and make sure all the plastic containers have their lids.

    • Mo Crow says:

      oh yes, those are all good, you always make me laugh Julie! have started the edit & it’s all going swimmingly but “musn’t get too hasty” as the wise Ent said in the Lord of the Rings….

  3. P is also for how productive procrastination can be in the right hands!
    The glove is magnificent as will the dreaming hand be when it’s done.
    Onward through the tedium last bit for the Opus extravaganza my very very fine friend!

    • Mo Crow says:

      thanks for the encouragement Michelle, the appointment with the printer is next Wednesday at 10:30am on the second day of spring here in the Land Down Under

  4. handstories says:

    Oh, gosh, Mo! These are brilliant…I went to sleep thinking of your pretty teeny-tiny blue flowers & stars. What an amazing creative way to honor our greatest tools. (like you procrastinating keep the house livable!)

    • Mo Crow says:

      when i was a young dreamer my hands trembled and the lines were spidery, just barely there on some days, they have steadied over the years with practice so when the lines are trembling or fierce wild I just go with them on the day and the gardening is a good way to make a living. I used to see it as a means to an end, as a support for the art making but these days I look forward to seeing all our gardens each month as well as keeping a roof over our heads and food in the bellies.

  5. Wow – I’m very impressed by how productive you are in your procrastination! The 4th crow amulet is stunning, and the gloves are just flat-out exquisite! All I do when I procrastinate is get on the internet and read blogs – ha!

    • Mo Crow says:

      I do a lot of blog reading too Sharmon! this morning I am mulling over thoughts for a post about spheres of influence, just added a bat claw to Crow Amulet IIII whilst stitching more on the gardener’s hand, have yet to wake up enough to do any editing for today… that will be closer to dawn (it’s just before 4am)

  6. Carol says:

    Such treasures, Mo! The forget-me-nots and silver stars are stunning, and then the amulet is breathtaking! So looking forward to seeing all these things at your exhibition…

please leave a reply

