The Hands of Fate

Posted: August 23, 2015 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time, magic
Tags: , ,

marking-outmarking out my palm lines on an old pair of chamois evening gloves
right-hand-marking-outright hand detail, the finger tips needed repair
left-hand-marking-outleft hand detail, the leather had perished in places
palmspalms
backsbacks
right-sleeve-detailheart on sleeve detail
left-hand-wrist-detailleft hand wrist detail
left-hand-palm-detailleft hand palm detail
right-hand-palm-detailright hand palm detail
the-hands-of-fateThe Hands of Fate Mo 2015
vintage chamois leather evening gloves, indigo and pomegranate dyed silk thread from Glennis Dolce aka Shibori Girl, indigo Derwent Inktense coloured pencils, Golden Titanium White fluid acrylic
more may be added in time but on the other hand…

PS the last time I had my palm read was in 1974 when I was 19
Eric Clapton was singing Please Be With Me
“wondering what I hoped to find deep within me”
41 years later… am happy just letting the magic of each day unfold and enjoy the surprises

Comments
  1. fiberels says:

    Ha, one can read the palm of your glove now !
    I think it has been a full life up till now
    The blue-ish right one is beautiful and tells a dreamy story …

    (hmmmm I love old hands where you can read “life”, but
    iI don’t like very much the growing out of shape of my thumb
    joint ….. and the pain it causes )

    • Mo Crow says:

      I’m left handed so the left hand has become quite square and practical over a lifetime of gardening and making art & craft, my right hand still holds the dreaming… I dreamed of these gloves becoming incredibly beautiful and embellished but my stitching ability is just not up to the task, the leather is very old and perished in places especially where I changed my mind over and over, hence the paint rather than stitch…

  2. coloremartine says:

    I already love it a lot…………

  3. margaret johnson says:

    lovely Mo. what do the symbols across the palm mean?
    Did you use the leather needles when stitching? Does make it easier.
    Beautiful idea. ox

    • Mo Crow says:

      The symbols are Jupiter on the index finger, Saturn the middle finger, Apollo (the Sun) the ring finger, Mercury the little finger and their corresponding Mounts at the base of each finger, the Mount of Venus is at the base of the thumb & the mount of Luna is the lower outer edge of the palm & gosh thanks for the reminder, I’ll get those leather needles out straight away! I want to stitch lots of tiny stars along the seams on the right hand dreaming glove and lots of tiny leaves & tendrils with forget me not blue flowers on the gardening left hand glove… x fingers it could work!
      PS half an hour later Marg you are a genius those leather needles are brilliant!!!!

  4. fiona says:

    Magical and mystical Mo! I love the heart on the sleeve detail and am looking forward to the trails of stars…

  5. grace says:

    these are hard to Believe…the idea to do this, the doing of it….just Amazing!

    • Mo Crow says:

      I was given the gloves a week ago, the dream of the hands of fate arrived that night and has come together so fast but still a long way from done, x fingers with plenty of slow time to wander the seams & lots of tiny stitched using the very sharp leather needles that Marg sent they will work !

  6. vdbolyard says:

    old gloves are so terrific, don’t you wonder about the hands that were inside them once upon a time?

    • Mo Crow says:

      it’s the first time I have ever found a pair of old evening gloves that my big gardener/maker’s hands can actually squeeze into, this pair belonged to my friend Cathy’s aunt for special night’s out in the 40’s and 50’s.

  7. dotti says:

    They are gorgeous gloves! So good , I can feel them through the screen! HA !

  8. Carol says:

    Beautiful gloves, Mo, and becoming much more beautiful under your inspired hands. What a wonderful idea, gloves of destiny… Your stitching will be magical.

please leave a reply

