gathering

Posted: July 27, 2015 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags: , ,

gathering21 heart talismans (100 will be sewn into the headbands for the limited edition) and two crow amulets (of however many fall out of my hands) on the road to the Crow Show next year
crow-amulet-2-Mo15Crow Amulet II Mo15
black leather, vintage dyed ostrich feathers, bat claw, pentacle star buttons, mother of pearl button, red & black glass beads, waxed linen thread, filled with raw red silk, rose petals, lavender, rosemary & lemon scented gum
crow-amulet-2-by-Mo15here’s some better photos now that the sun is up!
crow-amulet-eye-IIcrow-amulet-II-foot

Comments
  1. Wow Mo these seem quite dark, bats claw, where did you get that from, its sounds a bit like a witches brew but then you include beautiful scented herbs and petals as well.

    • Mo Crow says:

      The Sydney Fruit Bat aka Grey headed Flying Fox are beautiful animals that pollinate the native Eucalypts and gather in big colonies in the parklands up and down the coast, sadly they get caught in the power lines and die, when the body falls to the ground I gather the claws, teeth and bones and bury it with gratitude and ceremony. I did have a set of wings that I used for the Transformation Gourd back in 2006 but the mortuary beetles got into them along with a lot of my feathers back in 2009 (and again in 2014, lessons in non-attachment) so yes, I am known as a witch as well as an artist and gardener, it’s a life!

  2. dinahmow says:

    You’d have fit right in with some of the “things” we had on our shelves…various bones, powerful owl pellet(!),feathers and the odd stuffed thing…

  3. Carol says:

    Fabulous collection of magical makings, Mo, and all absolutely beautiful! Like you and Di, I have a collection of treasures that I love, though I’ve had the odd visitor who was horrified that I have spiders, snakes, a bird skeleton and a magpie’s skull on display. I’ve collected such things since I was a child and now I’m sharing with my grandchildren who have a love of nature and an understanding that we only collect animals that we find dead, and that we don’t kill anything. We also have lovely burial ceremonies in my garden to honour those short but meaningful lives.

  4. kathydorfer says:

    this is really awesome … you amaze me mo
    xxoo

  5. jude says:

    the blackness here is so deep.

  6. karen says:

    the shadowing on these images is outstanding Mo…..thank you so much for the artist link. I couldn’t load it up so I googled her and wow…there is some seriously beautiful draping and wrapping going on there….

  7. handstories says:

    Mo, it seems that deep magic and love are pouring out of your hands these days.

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Cindy))) thanks for the encouragement am trembling on the edge of the editing tunnel this morning, my new glasses have arrived so it’s time to go over every square inch of the Crow Book with fresh eyes haven’t looked at it since the middle of June when I finished the leather binding.

  8. saskia says:

    at first I didn’t spot the hearts, they are so cute, what a lovely addition to the already extraordinary book…………….look forward to seeing many more of the amulets, in the early light of day the images are breathtaking with those crisp shadows

    • Mo Crow says:

      the hearts are a lovely way to start each day the amulets are more demanding, every one is an individual and I never know what is going to happen next!

  9. fiberels says:

    It’s becoming quite a nice collection Mo ….
    (thanks, I like that name “magic dragon scale bag …. 😉 …)

please leave a reply

