March Forth!

Posted: March 3, 2015 by Mo Crow in friends, It's Crow Time
Tags:

6-decades-gift-from-Jo-New celebrating 6 decades on the planet today
My magic friend Jo New sent this beautifully carved bone feather, turquoise and finely glazed ceramic bowl
Jo is an intrepid traveler with the best eye for light here’s a link to her website
and just gave myself this beautiful hand bound indigo dyed recycled leather book by Kate Bowles
indigo book by Kate Bowleswill be going to the beach for breakfast in a few hours then down to Botany to Birdsall’s the leather supplier for some eel skin and out to a Japanese restaurant for dinner, right now I am going to draw the spider lily in the dark corner of A Simple Life that I replaced yesterday. will add more photos and thoughts on being amazed that I am still here on the planet and wondering where the last 30 years went!
Here’s a few pics from this morning at Clovelly
Clovellymorning sun on a calm sea at Clovelly
Banksia-at-Clovelly-bathsa horizontal “bonsai” Banksia growing out of the cement wall above Clovelly Baths
leatherWe went to Birdsalls & NSW Leather where we found two pieces of the most delicious Italian calfskin for the covers of  The illustrated lyrics of Old Man Crow, I want to make fingerless gloves for drawing & stitching in winter with the offcuts, Ron Edwards books are brilliant his diagrams for knot making are perfect in every way, the stitched square of leather is made from 45 chicken legs (the strangest piece of leather I have ever encountered!), two eel skins (wonderfully stretchy & thin a most delightful material to work with), some waxed linen, raw leather cord and brown linen thread, now it’s time to read a few more chapters of “The Faraway Nearby” by Rebecca Solnit before going out for Japanese food tonight!
Another present just arrived
RBG-by-Richard-Whitfield-a beautiful drawing in the Sydney Royal Botanic Gardens made back in the 1980’s by Richard Whitfield
I am so spoiled, here’s the dessert!
dessert

Comments
  1. Patricia says:

    and wishing you at least 30 more go-rounds!

  2. Dana says:

    Happy Birthday Mo! I’m wishing a wonderful day and joyful coming year for you, Fish Sister.

    • Mo Crow says:

      thanks Dana, Old Man Crow’s alarm is just going off now so we we’ll be heading down to the beach very soon, who would have thought getting this old would be so much fun?

  3. Love and Birthday Wishes to You Dear Mo .

  4. Happy birthday Mo . . . I believe self-indulgence (in a good way) is permitted for a whole month this year.

  5. dinahmow says:

    Oh! Frabjous felicitations, my friend! The day you plan sounds lovely.Enjoy! xx

  6. Marti says:

    May you find six shells, six pieces of sea glass, six lovely strands of seaweed and may you have a simply scintillating 60th birthday dear Mo. Happy Day******

  7. fiberels says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY Mo !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Dear Mo, Happy BIrthday fellow traveller. We’re both 60 years young and still able to appreciate all the small beautiful things that make existence a joy! Hope we can meet up again soon for some gallery hopping. Have a wonderful day today, Cathy.

  9. Julie Banks says:

    Wishing you the happiest of birthdays, Mo! It’s serendipitous that my Dad’s birthday is the same day as yours- he turns 94 and is still making his wonderful tapestries! xxx

  10. beth says:

    Wishes for a very happy birthday to you dear Mo!

  11. margaret johnson says:

    Time DOES fly when you are having fun!! Many happy returns Mo. I’m sure you’ll have a great day. Hugs from Marg oxox

    • Mo Crow says:

      Thanks Marg! just putting a few photos up now, the Italian black calfskin that we found for the covers for The illustrated lyrics of Old Man Crow is the softest most luxurious leather I have ever had the pleasure to touch I want to try to make a pair of fingerless gloves with the offcuts, have you ever made gloves? what sort of seams would i do? French? flat fell? would I just trace around my hands to make the pattern?

      • Just checked my leather gloves Mo. There are a variety of seams. Most are just simple seams but the reverse of what you would have on a garment (you can see the small seam allowance) but around the ball of the thumb the leather is overlapped and have double rows of stitching. Hope that makes sense. Can’t wait to see what you come up with . . . I’m so intrigued that if I had some soft leather I might even have a go myself.

  12. margaret johnson says:

    Mo, will send you some info. Love all your leather goodies. Enjoy your meal. oxox

    • Mo Crow says:

      thanks Marg, have just been looking online at vintage evening glove patterns and some very clunky hand sewn gloves, to make a good fit will be quite ambitious!

  13. margaret johnson says:

    PS The leather I made your mini book and talisman bag from, is very fine leather, BUT I have a pair of ‘paper fine’ gloves from the twenties, they are beautiful. When I was a teenager I used to collect clothes and accessories, from the 20’s to 40’s. Ofcourse I was thin enough to wear all those beautiful things then….ho hum. Marg ox

    • Mo Crow says:

      oh paper fine gloves! I loved all the 40’s vintage clothes we could find back then too but realized I was getting quaint walking through the city with a friend’s teenaged daughter a few years back when 70’s hippie chic was back in fashion 40 years later!

  14. Rich. I sent you a song by email….now looking at these above, after the Indigo and Ivory, the rest so dark and strange and beautiful in every way I think of lines from “The Tempest”–
    Full fathom five thy father lies;
    Of his bones are coral made;
    Those are pearls that were his eyes:
    Nothing of him that doth fade
    But doth suffer a sea-change
    Into something rich and strange.
    Sea-nymphs hourly ring his knell

  15. grace says:

    a very very WonderFull year to you, Mo…
    Love,

  16. Carol says:

    I can’t tell you how pleased I am that you’re still on this planet, Mo! I’m sure you had a wonderful day, Rod would have seen to that. ((((Mo))))

    • Mo Crow says:

      it was a great day of celebration and connections but gosh I feel (& look) 100 today, need a little afternoon nap when we get in from work in another couple of hours!

  17. christina says:

    Happy Birthday Mo! And what an amazing stash of goodies, looking forward to seeing what you’ve got planned for them. xxx

  18. Carol says:

    Thank you for adding the extra photos, especially the loot from Birdsall’s. Wow, the chicken feet leather is amazing. I’ve not seen anything like it before. The black is really beautiful and will be gorgeous for your books. What a great birthday!

  19. fiona says:

    Hope you had a most wonderful few days – Clovelly looks so inviting! Its amazing to stop and reflect on our live and the whirling past of time – congrats on your time so far!

  20. Judy Martin says:

    I am late in wishing you a wonderful life day but shall do now. Warm xx’s to you and thank you for the lovely photos of your birthday. We must appreciate each day.. xxoo

  21. handstories says:

    A belated Happy Birthday dear Mo! Of course, you’re a sister fish. I hope it is a wonderful new year for you! xo

  22. Liz says:

    Oh my … How did I miss this? Very belated best wishes for completing 60 revolutions of the sun. May you have a glorious birthday season …

please leave a reply

