A Cup of Sea by Cindy Monte of Hand Stories

Posted: January 20, 2015 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags: , , ,

 

A-Cup-Of-Sea-by-Cindy-Monte-2014‘A Cup of Sea’ by Cindy Monte 2014 of Hand Stories arrived on my doorstep yesterday afternoon
Cup-of-Sea-booklet-by-Cindy-Monte-14the booklet wrapped in beautiful stitching and detail
cup-of-sea-detail-by-Cindy-Monte-14I love how the shells and sea glass can tumble out and then be safely stored back in the cup
sailing-ship-detail-Cindy-Monte-14Cindy’s brave little sailing ship on the sea of dreams
cup-of-sea-detail-Cindy-Monte-14 banner flying
moon-detail-by-Cindy-Monte-14the Moon and Stars and 3 Blue Birds of Happiness
I love this booklet so much, the feel of the beautiful stitching, the delightful sense of story, the way it rolls out and rolls up & the deep heart connection to the Moon, Stars & Blue
the good news is Cindy has just opened an online shop to sell her booklets so you can have one too !
Here’s the link
bowl-of-cherriessometimes life is just one big bowl of cherries
drawing-boardnow it’s time to get back to the drawing board

Comments
  1. I began by being charmed by Cindy’s work but when I reached the final image . . . well I just want to reach out and handle that piece of cloth hanging down behind the light and sew into it. I shall just have to go and eat my breakfast (with raspberries as I ate all the cherries), walk the beach and then find some cloth of my own . . . but first there is paper to set in the steamer for another book.

    • Mo Crow says:

      Cindy’s booklets are so very special, feeling very lucky to have this treasure in my house. The cherries were a late xmas present from one of our gardening customers on Monday they are sooo delicious I almost got a stomach ache yesterday which reminded me of that scene in the Witches of Eastwick… the cotton gauze is a fabulous bargain from Beautiful Silks here’s the link it’s temporarily hanging in the window to cool the hot morning sun coming through the window, it was curling the drawing!

    • Thanks for the link Mo, what stunning fabrics!

    • Mo Crow says:

      the sense of touch, the softness of the silk stitches, the way the cloth rolls and unrolls so beautifully the sense of flow… Cindy is a rare treasure!

  2. Carol says:

    I so enjoyed Cindy’s blog, Mo, thank you for another lovely introduction! Your book is so beautiful, all that gorgeous blue to get lost within. I polished off the last of my cherries yesterday, hoping to find more today. Wouldn’t be summer without them. Go well with your drawings…

  3. was onCindy’s site a couple of minutes ago and said her colour wil fil my dreams tonight
    to see her here is a extra treasure

    and i’m curious about your printed nr 3
    love

    • Mo Crow says:

      Cindy has a such whimsical sense of colour & wonder in all her work
      & re Crow Drawing no 3… it’s very close just doing some fiddling with the levels in Photoshop it will be there very soon

  4. fiberels says:

    Ahhhhhhh YES ! Cindy made such a wonderful booklet !!!!
    You are lucky to have it !

  5. Liz says:

    what a delight to see this wash up on your distant shore … another thread wraps itself around and through this wonderful world … cheers!

  6. handstories says:

    Thank you so much, Mo! It’s wonderful to see it in its new home. I think it was always meant to make this voyage…love to you.

  7. tina says:

    Ohhh my…..a ship….sailing somewhere dreamy….this booklet art is new to me but I am so enjoying all I have seen…and being a sucker for a dreamy ship….
    I’ve just recently found your site….do so love all the crows, you do such beautiful works!

  8. beth says:

    I feel a little giddy with delight seeing this one make its way to you. I love watching Cindy’s whimsical pieces in process.

  9. Anita says:

    Beautiful! I love how it goes into the moon and stars section – sailing to the stars. Will go look at the shop. Thanks.

  10. jude says:

    aha! aren’t they great?

please leave a reply

