the indigo amulet with feathers

Posted: January 12, 2015 by Mo Crow in magic
Tags: , , , , ,

indigo amulet-by-Mo-2015‘The Indigo Amulet’ by Mo 2015
made in the Bower Bird Blues Workshop with India Flint & Roz Hawker hosted by Tarla Elward
with feathers and a few vintage treasures added this morning to honour the indigo
materials : vegetable tanned leather, papyrus, indigo leaves stitched inside with linen and silk thread, edged with frayed raw and open weave silk, hand twined silk cords, tiny samples of silk, linen, cotton, jersey & wool to see how the different fabrics vary in colour, etched silver milagro by Roz, vintage silver talisman from Africa, new & vintage glass beads, glass feathers by Kathy Dorfer, found Satin Bower Bird, Crow, Cockatoo & Rosella feathers
(NB photo taken outside to show true colour variations)

Comments
  1. Dana says:

    Thank you for sharing all of your wonderful photos from the Bower Bird Blues workshop….I knew you would and have been looking forward to it! It must have been so inspiring to join with all of those other talented creators (I would love to meet each one) and play with natural indigo together. Your amulet is so “you” and so beautiful. I love the variations of blue, moderated by that triangle of leather. I think it is the browny greeny quality of the leather that makes the other blues pop. Photographing it on the background of peeling paint just adds another dimension. I’m so glad you had the chance to do this, and took it.

  2. handstories says:

    Sigh….really deeply bluetiful.
    (one of my dreams is to see a bower bird in real life…)

    • Mo Crow says:

      you will have to come to the Land Down Under one day Cindy they are magic birds, the males are blue black with crimson eyes the ladies are green-ish brown with beautiful blue eyes. When I lived on my own out in the bush with no electricity or running water back in the early 80’s I read, drew and stitched by kero lamp which needed a small blue funnel to fill it up each evening. I would find that blue treasure in the male’s bower every day, it was a game!

      • handstories says:

        the blue satin bower bird…the first I heard of them was in a picture book 25 years ago, and then saw the old documentary “flying casanovas & fell completely. I dream of Australia, too. Since my twenties- I would always teach a unit on Australia, mostly the animals (platypus also fascinate me), rainbow snake stories, find didgeridoo players to come, make up walkabouts…

  3. Looks mighty fine on peeling painted wood!

  4. mutabilia says:

    i just love this image

  5. margaret johnson says:

    Beautiful backdrop for a beautiful piece Mo. Nice to see the true colours. Did the indigo have a smell, did it have a texture, how did it feel? Did the dye change the feel of the fabrics? Are you down to Earth yet??? ox

    • Mo Crow says:

      the indigo feels very clean & gentle, there is no texture because the sendiment settles to the bottom of the jar, the amulet was submerged gently (so as not to introduce any oxygen) and massaged for about half a minute in the bath temperature indigo jar then rinsed in cool water. It has a slightly gamey alive sort of scent, more animal than plant, a bit like our cat Ariel! The cloths, leather & threads are all still soft and malleable but feel strengthened by the indigo like a conditioning tonic. The gardening yesterday helped get my feel back on the ground, it’s like the tropics with rain at night and steamy days so we’re busily trimming the wildness away from the pathways so our customers can get to their front doors and see out their windows!

  6. Absolutely glorious in every way! I love the way you put together these seemingly incongruous materials into a perfect whole – it truly is magic!

  7. grace says:

    really so Excellent images, all of them. Thank you for sharing the Time…

  8. You’re a fine storyteller, Mo, and this was an especially magical one – in the reading and the viewing. Wishing you continued good times with the Blues as I think your idea about more leather is pretty darn compelling.

    • Mo Crow says:

      thanks for the good words Christi! This year is all about Black & White with just a dash of red but next year after the launch of “The illustrated lyrics of Old Man Crow” I will start an indigo vat to play with leather & paper for some blue books, it was so good to find that my hands can cope with dipping into the organic indigo (my left hand middle finger is my canary in the coal mine letting me know if there is any toxins by infecting instantly, quite handy really!)

  9. Heather says:

    Gorgeous piece – so fitting to honour the magic of indigo in this way.

  10. coloremartine says:

    I love everything in this foto……………

  11. Carol says:

    Beautiful! Beautiful! Beautiful! That’s the amulet. And the door is beautiful, too!

    • Mo Crow says:

      they do work well together, this 5 year old compact Fujifilm Finepix F200 EXR is not brilliant, it tried to be too many things bu tis a master of none… but does the job in good light

  12. I wish I didn’t need to go out for the day! I’m inspired. I’ll take a notebook with me to jot down some ideas if I get a moment. . . . I want to make some small woven pieces for the covers of books.

please leave a reply

