The Path of Heart (handle with care)

Posted: July 19, 2014 by Mo Crow in knots and nests
Tags: ,

path-of-heart detail Mo 2014The Path of Heart (handle with care) by Mo 2014
hand twined ochre dyed string, rainbow lorikeet feathers, grape vine tendril, vintage glass “chakra” beads from Africa, a few very old ceramic beads from Peru, quartz crystal, turquoise, lapis lazuli, agate, red seed, vintage Silkworm Thread, silk wrapped steel
path-of-heart-Mo-2014detail of feathers and beads
I have had that old Joni Mitchell song “Hejira” from 1976 running on repeat in the memory banks for the last few days
This one feels like a returning to myself, to that young wild thing with the big dreams living out in the bush making feather and shell earrings by 12 candlelight…

Comments
  1. Julie Banks says:

    Beautiful work, Mo, the detail is amazing!

    • Mo Crow says:

      thanks for the good words Julie, I think it’s finished… just letting it rest for a bit, will put this series of necklaces in the Xmas Salon at Artsite.

  2. roz says:

    i LOVE this colour breakout ! i LOVE that song by joni ! [ i still have the vinyl ] i LOVE ‘returning to myself ‘ and the fabulous natural string completes this perfectly for me .
    “We shall not cease from exploration
    And the end of all our exploring
    Will be to arrive where we started
    And know the place for the first time.”
    ― T.S. Eliot, Four Quartets

    however , there is no end to exploring in sight here ….

  3. dinahmow says:

    Colour! Not that I don’t like the other pieces, but this leapt up at me.
    At one time i had a drawer full of “dangly” ornaments, mostly made by me, some be friends.Yards and yards of apple pips on dental floss, too!

    • Mo Crow says:

      Hehe! not sure if I like to ask how you attached the pips to the floss and whether it was washed first….

      • dinahmow says:

        The pips were cleaned ! Floss was threaded onto a fine sharp needle and that was poked (carefully!) through the pip.Bigger seeds needed to be drilled. It was all the rage in the 60s;started by the Dental Nurses, I think

  4. Ah–Wild thing–you make my heart sing!….You know the song-http://youtu.be/5nPpwZRJOzw-
    What a spectacular piece Mo!

  5. beth says:

    Played and played and played that Joni Mitchell album. It has remained such a marker of that mid to late 70s time for me. The feather colors so startling. Full spectrum beauty.

  6. Carol says:

    Like Di, I found the colour burst quite stunning. The Lorrikeet feathers have such colour variation. This is a wonderful piece, Mo, though I’ve yet to see one of your works of art that wasn’t truly special. I’ll have to make an effort to get to the Christmas exhibition.

  7. margaret johnson says:

    Ahhh, lovely Mo. ox

    • Mo Crow says:

      Hi Marg, was surprised at the journey this one took me on, early last week I was thinking of the rainbow colours of the chakras, then the next day a friend gave me a rainbow lorikeet that had hit her window and died, so I took some of the feathers and gave it a decent burial. Then the spiral twig cracked that I was stitching the feathered string onto so it needed the silk steel wrapped grapevine tendril to hold together and that’s when it turned into a heart …

  8. hejira – goosebumps and truly one of my favorites (when I can bear to hear it again)… I was on my way to Ivory Coast back then – so beautiful Mo – dancing with you as always xox

    • Mo Crow says:

      I was thinking of you and how you so bravely followed your heart to work for the Peace Corps on the Ivory Coast while I was making this one Elizabeth!

  9. how wonderful – thank you dear Mo – dreaming a return to self and striding briskly with that brave heart!

please leave a reply

