“Peace Is Every Step” by Fiona Dempster

Posted: June 20, 2014 by Mo Crow in good books
Tags: , , , ,

Peace-is-Every-Step-by-Fiona-Dempster The talented and generous Australian calligrapher, printmaker and book artist Fiona Dempster of Paper Ponderings celebrated her 800th post with a give away of this beautiful accordion book “Peace is Every Step”
and I was the lucky recipient!
Peace-is-Every-Step-by-Fiona-Dempster-2014“Peace is Every Step” by Fiona Dempster
Peace-is-every-step-by-Fiona-Dempster-detailFiona’s Artist Statement: “Books, paper, words and language are my constants. I love the way words create meaning and enable messages to be shared. The notion of books still thrills me – the worlds that lie within, the potential for discovery, and the joy of holding a book in my hands.

I work slowly, often meditatively. It takes time to prepare, cut and fold paper for a book; to measure, mark and draw lines for writing; to stitch multiple pages. I enjoy the peacefulness of sitting quietly as I do these tasks. My work is quiet.”

Thank you Fiona!
Namaste

Comments
  1. dinahmow says:

    Lucky Mo! Fiona does make some lovely works.

  2. saskia says:

    lucky you! thanks for the link to her site, she’s an amazing artist and I have added her to my list

  3. deemallon says:

    Oh a perfect draw for you!

  4. Carol says:

    So thrilled, Mo, that you are the recipient of Fiona’s lovely book. As you say, Fiona and Barry are both gifted and generous artists and very lovely people.

please leave a reply

