eek! mortuary beetles as a literal metaphor… ?

Posted: May 5, 2014 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time, magic
Tags: , ,

memento-mori-in-processI started stitching this Black & White Memory Keeper for a friend’s 60th birthday and had been thinking about how the wedge tailed eagle is her totem and the magnificent eagle feather  I was gifted from Eliene last year which is now no more… the mortuary beetles ate it! That holey piece of shaft in the photo above is all I could save, the rest of the feather is buried in the garden with half a dozen peacock feathers (there is still ten of those gorgeous long feathers left Margaret but it was a close call, the buggers were busy) and they nibbled on Shen’s long pheasant feather too… it is looking decidedly moth eaten. The first time the mortuary beetles invaded our space was April Fool’s Day 2009, they destroyed this jackdaw wing that was gifted to me ten years ago
Mo with Jo New Wing 2004and also ate the beautiful bat wings off the Transformation Gourd
a month later I was diagnosed with cancer of the uterus and made this little boat to release my womb down at the sea
sometimes I wonder why I have to take the metaphors of life so literally but I guess that is what being an artist is all about…

Comments
  1. dinahmow says:

    Your humour lightens the dark, Mo.And a damn’ good thing, too. After moths ate a stash of feathers I wanted to use I bought one of those 99cents boas at the cheap shop and kept it in a cardboard shoe box.Special guest menu for moths! 🙂

  2. coloremartine says:

    Moths……………i just found out they ate big parts of the Goddess Cloth because i was not in the atelier for 3 months. Interesting thought on how to restore this.

    • Mo Crow says:

      (((Martine))) perhaps the random holes that your moths & my beetles have made could be transformed into stars with a bit of stitchery & witchery?

      • That was a mouthful–a life full–a whole lot of memory keepers–and the bugs–well, I had a bad problem with moths and moth larvae and feather eating thingies–so 1. I hung moth attracting cards in all my closets and around baseboards for about three months (gone forever) 2. I always soak feathers in a 20 percent solution of clorox and water, dry them upside down hanging-and don’t have feather bug problems.

        • Mo Crow says:

          thanks for the good tip Michelle! this is a very lively house, we had the mortuary beetles in 2009, then the chimney full of bees, then the hot water heater full of ants, then all the various bugs that ate the old honey and bee hive and now the mortuary beetles again… finding a balance with nature in all her wild ways is the thing!

  3. margaret johnson says:

    Oh dear, I lost a beautiful set of owl feathers to some sort of bug. Would you like some more peacock feathers? A friend gave me some from her peacock feathers recently (recently dropped). ox

    • Mo Crow says:

      Hi Margaret, I still have a lovely bunch of peacock feathers left, I rescued them in time, this wild old lady of a house certainly keeps me on my toes!

  4. Carol says:

    Just recently lost some peacock feather but now I’m reminded that somewhere I have a gorgeous feather fan that belonged to my mother. Eeek! Now I need to search for it and hope that it isn’t in the shed with the rats…

please leave a reply

