not a fabulous result

Posted: March 7, 2014 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags:

not-very-pleasingmy alchemical rose experiment resulted in a sodden little book that smells like compost!
surprisedsurprised to find green, blue and black… not a trace of the deep red colour of the Mr Lincoln roses or their delightful scent
green-blue-and-yellowoh well… will see what it looks like after a week of being interleaved with cartridge offcuts under weights
soggy-bookthere is definitely a lot more to this dyeing caper than meets the eye!
rose-coloured-flax-stringthe tea stained watercolour paper wrapped in silk is a bit more interesting, the flax string has a slightly pink tinge now
roses-and-silkthe silk is a bit pink and the paper is too
tea-and-rosesthe Stonehenge watercolour paper for the front and back pages of Crow Book 3 is almost a good result
will see what it looks like after it dries…
stonehenge-watercolour-paperMy lovely friend Penny sent this Jurlique Rose Hand Cream that saved my hands!
( I never garden without gloves and have learned that if I ever try this again I will need to wear surgical gloves!)
Jurlique-rose-hand-creamthe best result was the interface wrapped around the iron thing and the linen thread is pleasingly black too!
iron-on-interfaceI have a lot to learn but am not sure if I want to!

Comments
  1. dinahmow says:

    Ah well…nothing is a failure if it teaches something, right? But if you did want to continue…petals from pot pourri would scent your pages.And you could try soaking your thread in essential oils, taking care not to stain the pages.

    • Mo Crow says:

      Hi Di, I have a vague memory of collecting rose petals at dawn and doing something with distilled water, oil and silk… about 35 years ago, ’round the same time there was the rosewood shaving & sawdust essence I made in the strongest vodka i could find… neither of those experiments were winners either… y’know how there are some things that work in this lifetime and some that just don’t.. I am very bad with clay too!
      I do have lots of dried Cecille Brunner roses from a couple of the gardens we look after… maybe they could go inside the lining of the crow book …

  2. Dotti says:

    Hey Mo, it does not look all bad, there is some fantastic stuff going on there! The leaf patterns are exquisite, and some of the soft pinks are beautiful! I guess you had a vision about the end result. I understand that from firing and glazing ceramics. It’s just the way the magic works. XXX Dotti

  3. Carol says:

    There are lots of things that looked as though they had potential, Mo, and I’m sure some will dry out beautifully. I’ve never had any success with similar projects either and I know what you mean when you say you’re not sure if you want to keep trying. Just be happy about the usable stuff and write the rest off as alchemical experience.

  4. I’m not sure what you were going for here, but I think the green, blue and black look fabulous. I’m also not sure what cartridge off-cuts are; can you enlighten?

    • Mo Crow says:

      For bookbinding I use big sheets of artist’s quality acid free cartridge paper, to create each folio (a double text page folded in half) I fold and tear the sheets out to make a deckled edge for the leather travel journals. I get 10 folios per piece of cartridge but there is always offcuts with a straight edge which make good little notebooks bound with an oriental side binding as in this post which was not a good thing to cook as it would never have dried out properly so I cut the binding, trashed the carved cover which didn’t work (image was too complex and was lost in the immersion) and replaced the cover with a spare that I had put in the bundle for this contingency.
      NB I was wanting a rose scented book… but ended up learning how to print with flowers and leaves!

      • I’m thinking cartridge paper is paper that goes in an inkjet printer, then?

        • Mo Crow says:

          hmmm… just looked online and cartridge paper is not known as cartridge in the US, I have been using it here in Australia for sketching since the early 70’s, it’s a white acid free paper with a bit of tooth that takes ink & pencil very well. I used it for all my fine ink drawings until I discovered Schoellershammer very smooth 245 gsm paper in the 1990’s which was perfect for the detailed botanical illustrations. Used A4 sized 300 gsm Arches smooth white watercolour paper for An illuminated Book of Cats for uniformity of size and placement of the letters on the page then in about 2011 when I started the drawings for Old Man Crow I started using Saunders Waterford H/P 425 gsm, it’s the best paper I have ever used, I sharpen 5H pencils to needle points and engrave the surface with them!

  5. saskia says:

    this is amazing, especially the cloth on bottom image

please leave a reply

