Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize

Posted: November 1, 2013 by Mo Crow in art exhibitions
Tags: ,

The winning work tore my heart out
Sorrow by Julia deVilleJulia DeVille (VIC)
Winner of the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize
Sorrow
Stillborn deer, glass, antique platter, rubies 0.35ct, enamel paint
56 x 35 x 15 cm
Courtesy of Sophie Gannon Gallery
Artist’s Statement: “I am fascinated with the aesthetic used to communicate mortality in the Memento Mori period of the 15th and 16th centuries, as well as the methods the Victorians used to sentimentalize death with adornment. I work in traditional gold and silversmithing techniques, combined with materials that were once living such as jet, human hair and most importantly taxidermy. I use these materials as a Memento Mori, or reminder of our mortality. I incorporate the symbols of death throughout my work because i think it’s important to identify with the concept that we are mortal creatures. I believe if we can accept our own mortality, we can in turn appreciate the significance of life. As a strict vegetarian I consider my taxidermy to be a celebration of life, a preservation of something beautiful. I feel strongly about the fair and just treatment of animals and only use animals that have died of natural causes.”
You can see more of Julia’s masterly work here
woven-money by Abdullah M. I . SyedAbdullah M. I . Syed (NSW)
Weaving Myth VI: US vs. China
(from Flying Rug Series)
Hand cut and woven 100 US dollar bill and 100 Chinese Yuan installed in custom Perspex vitrine
14 x 16.5 x 26 cm
Courtesy of Aicon Gallery, New York
Artist’s Statement: “Weaving Myth is an ongoing investigation of contemporary art within the framework of capital, politics and consumption of power. The narratives in the artwork are rooted in the ambiguous relationships between fact and fiction, placed in the crosshairs of historical and modern day mythologies. Money is fictitious and used to measure ownership, economic power and false prosperity. The use of paper currency, a masculine domain, of two super powers, has infinite temporal dimensions, connecting histories with the underlying human desire for power on the one hand, while battling the overriding realisation that the building of human relationship is imperative to existence. Through weaving, an eclectic polarity of ideas is communicated. ”
it made my hackles rise & my arms were covered in horripilli!
My Sad Captain by Dani MartiDani Marti (NSW)
My Sad Captain
Polypropylene, glass beads
60 x 60 cm curled up 10 cm diameter
Courtesy of Breenspace
Artist’s Statement: My practice is stimulated by what I perceive as challenges within the act of portrayal. I am fascinated by what lies behind the surface of the subject as an essence to be grasped or sought after through attempting to re-present it.
I loved this one!
You can see all the sculptures that were entered here

Comments
  1. Bronwyn says:

    Thanks Mo, looks like a great show

  2. karen says:

    love the second image Mo….

please leave a reply

