Crossroads Hotel

Posted: October 31, 2013 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags: , , ,

XRoads-Hotel-crow-detail-Mo-13“Mangy dog with his nose in a bin
dusty road, rusty tin
faded sign flapping in the wind
saying “Travellers welcome, come on in!”
Crossroads Hotel, I’ve been here before
you pay in blood for your room and board
book in easy, book out hard
live or die on the turn of a card”
Crow-Bar-Mo-13“at the bar its party on
people dancing, singing songs
its a carnival of clowns
killing time
on the merry-go-round”
XRoads-Hotel-upstairs-Mo-13“while upstairs, ruthless people
roll the dice, buy and sell
you and me, and each other
its a jungle its a
dangerous address”
XRoads-Hotel-Mo-2013Out here
at the crossroads

Out here
at the crossroads

Down the side there’s a rusty gate
broken hinges, peeling paint
knock on the door, hope I’m not too late
there’s the eye at the window, there’s the hand of fate
Crossroads Hotel, I’ve been here before
you pay in blood for your room and board
book in easy, book out hard
live or die on the turn of a card

Out here
at the crossroads

Out here
at the crossroads”

lyrics © Rod Morgan 2008
illustration © Mo Orkiszewski 2013
Listen to an mp3 of Crossroads Hotel here

this is song no 26 out of 40 for “The Illustrated Lyrics of Old Man Crow”
you can hear the songs here
and see the illustrations here

and I just inverted it in the next post!

Comments
  1. ruthkeys says:

    Wonderful lyrics and fantastic artwork. The illustrations are so fluid and alive. 🙂

  2. Valerianna says:

    Great story in word and image.

    • I just shard this one on FB with a reference to the inverse one…and enthusiastic praise for the two of you Just so you know–I have a GOOGLE issue…currently can not access my email (a yogi friend comes in from California next week and will fix what I can’t, meanwhile I can only be reached via phone, my blog, or messages at FB. I’m about to try and load the small video I made while listening to Rod sing the tender “I Got a Reason”…on you tube and designated as ‘unlisted’ on Judes advice….I’ll post it on FB if it lets me.

  3. willowdot21 says:

    Fantastic love the drawings are they yours!

please leave a reply

