a spirit book of The Spirit Books Series by Susan Kapuscinski Gaylord

Posted: May 29, 2013 by Mo Crow in spirit book
Tags: , ,

spirit-book1The latest project is making a spirit book of “The Spirit Book Series”by Susan Kapuscinski Gaylord. I bought her CD of the series and she kindly gave me permission to print it out for binding. This gave me the good excuse to buy a bundle of fabulous handmade papers and pull out my collection of dried flowers, twigs and tendrils for consideration
spirit-book-considerationsI love this spiral paper
thinkinga tiny flannel flower , grape tendril & snail shell on a piece of palm sheath
flannel-flower-grape-tendril-and-snail-shell
the covers are cut out with a first layer of fine cheesecloth that was one of my “disastrous” dyeing experiments earlier in the year with a lovely earthy quality to it & the pages are all folded into signatures with bookbinders mull reinforcing the spines and gutters drying under weights. I love making books!

Comments
  1. Patricia says:

    loving this–something i’ve always thought about but never tried. will continue watching with much interest.

    • Mo Crow says:

      Books are my passion, I have been a voracious reader all my life (even before I could understand the words!) & have been binding books for 10 years now. But gosh for inspiration you have Asheville Bookworks just down the road & my hero of coptic binding Daniel Essig has a studio there too, X fingers I will get to see them and you in August 2014 for my Mom’s 85th birthday bash!

  2. deanna7trees says:

    i just love those tendrils and the word itself.

  3. Valerianna says:

    Wonderful… emerging… look forward to its reveal!

    • Mo Crow says:

      I have wanted to make something like a Spirit Book for years but haven’t felt “right” about it ’til now with binding Susan’s portfolio, exploring each page with drawings and & materials that will speak with each of her images & working a Spirit Symbol into the front cover that works with materials I have in my collection of plant material gathered over the years of working as a gardener here in Sydney.

  4. Robyn says:

    Looking at all your wonderful earthy bits and pieces and the inspiration behind it, I just know this is going to be the most beautiful book.

  5. Eliene says:

    I know you will make this ‘spirit book’ live, giving all your wonderful bits & pieces a new lease on life…..so very appropriate!!!

    • Mo Crow says:

      every day I wake up with a new thought for the making, this morning is will I use hemp or nettle string to sew it all together… I like having to make these sorts of decisions!

  6. margaret johnson says:

    Ahh Mo. knowing you, this book will be exquisite, showing your very distinctive style. Just LOVE those tendrils. Have fun. ox

    • Mo Crow says:

      this has been a great day so far, the text block is sewn onto cords, all the images are in place & curing under weights, the covers are still drying but are getting the details more sorted with the building, I love bookbinding!

  7. i can’t even envision such a Thing…am Waiting Waiting Waiting to see…. ~.~

  8. Carol says:

    Gosh Mo, this is a stunning collection of beautiful things for your book. I’m doing a catch up so answering backwards. Your blog is a joyous experience, every time. And happy very late birthday wishes for Old Man Crow…

    • Mo Crow says:

      thanks Carol we’re having an excellent birthday weekend for both Old Man Crow and the Queen, went to the local with friends for dinner on Friday night, the opening of Suzanne Archer’s Antholgy of Absurdity at the Janet Clayton Gallery yesterday & just watched Tim Burton’s fabulously mad movie “Frankenweenie” this arvo

please leave a reply

