bush orchid nesting

Posted: March 29, 2013 by Mo Crow in Lace
Tags: ,

bush-orchid-nest             a nest for a native bush orchid (Dendrobium sp.) made from coco fibre woven with two weights of hemp string & knotted with waxed linen thread and snail shells
bush-orchid-nest-2a noisy miner nest that had fallen out of the lemon scented eucalypt in the big winds a few weeks ago also makes a good home for a bush orchid
bush-orchid-nest-3& a currawong nest that had fallen from the same gum tree last year on another windy day works too!
I gave up on my string garden as the plants needed to be sprayed with water twice daily and soaked once a week in an already very damp corner so I cut them all down last week and put them back outside where they are much happier!

Comments
  1. dinahmow says:

    Still…sometimes we have to try. 🙂

  2. Julie says:

    Mo, you can’t imagine the ridiculous lengths to which people here in the Northeast US go to grow orchids…they get more care than infants in neonatal intensive care and it all seems such a waste when I see them Just Going in your garden. Your nests are exquisite and I am so jealous of the verdant world you live in. Until I remember that humid green also equals snakes, with whom I do not want to co-exist, no matter how politically incorrect that may be….

    • Mo Crow says:

      oh you’d be fine here in the middle of Sydney a huge city of over 4 million people there’s no snakes except in the zoo! Human are such contrary creatures whenever we try to grow weeping birch or cherries, peonies & lilac it just ends in sudden death on the first scorchingly hot summer’s day even with ice cube mulch, umbrellas for shade and fans (yes this has been done)

  3. Carol says:

    These are lovely Mo, and very much of the moment for me because this weekend I am about to replant those very same orchids. Now I have lots of ideas, so thank you.

    Not living in Sydney but almost in a forest a couple of hours north, we were thrilled a couple of days ago to see a huge diamond python, coiled up on a very small branch about 60 feet up a gum tree. Small birds were freaking out but it ignored them so maybe was digesting something large. Next morning it was gone leaving us wondering where it is. In our shed is fine but I’m hoping it stays away from the chook yard. And the dog!

    • Mo Crow says:

      Ah the carpet snakes they are beautiful haven’t seen one since I came down here to Sydney, still dreaming of living out in the bush again one day and would love to keep a trio of Silver Sebright bantams but Ariel & Old Man Crow aren’t too keen!

  4. Valerianna says:

    What wonderful gifts from trees and wind… I love nests.

  5. margaret johnson says:

    Just beautiful Mo, love Bush Orchids. I have one with spotted leaves. Happy Easter break to you, Rod and Ariel. oxox

    • Mo Crow says:

      Hi Marg, am having a lovely Easter break so far, these orchids are the tough little dedrobiums that grow in the forks of trees out in the bush, there are so many varieties I never know what I have ’til they flower. I saw one out at the wholesale nurseries last month that was just a wisp of a tendril stuck on a bit of stick with a very damaged dried out flower about 2mm across. They wanted $18 for an almost dead plant wghich I thought was outrageous but if it’s still there next month I’ll rescue it!

  6. debgorr says:

    Love this! I was thinking about making hanging baskets with the crocheted baskets too, would be similar.

    • Mo Crow says:

      love your crocheted pots, they are so snug I feel like i have entered a time warp going back to macrame which I haven’t done since the 70’s but I am really enjoying it!

please leave a reply

