colour and wonder

Posted: January 22, 2013 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags: ,

grape-vine-tendrilsthe grape vine down the road loved that 46˚C ( (115˚F) we had on Friday, look at these strong new tendrils!
yesterday I got all excited about having a go at dyeing with the leaves and bark of the lemon scented gum (Eucalyptus citriodora) that lives across the road & dropped a branch with this little nest in it!
eucalyptus-citriodoraon the weekend in amongst my basket of old threads and scraps I found some 30 year old tins of hot water dye but wasn’t happy with the cold greys that came out on some silk scrim from Beautiful Silks
so I thought I would have a go at over dying with the bark fresh(ish) green leaves and old dry leaves
eucalytus-dyethrew in some raw cotton, silk & hemp strings to the brew & am not all that excited by that orange from the bark but the blue tone from the fresh leaves is lovely
start for a scarf  so here’s the circle of cloths gathered so far to celebrate  the circle of the year with a new scarf in the making
I have ordered a dark moon from Glennis Shibori Girl which will help make the Winter Solstice with all those gorgeous blues I bought from her & Arlee last year, the mossy greens are a brew of all the old hot water dyes thrown in the pot together, that lush apricot lace at the top of the image is from my best friend Julie who taught me how to make Tiffany lampshades back in the 70′, all the beautiful old lace & the piece of batik is from Margaret Johnson. I am signing up with Jude Hill for another 6 months of her Spirit Cloth Diaries , she has gathered such an inspiring circle of cloth conjuring women around her!

Comments
  1. deanna7trees says:

    dyeing experiments are so much fun. i love the element of surprise. i love the grey and blue you got. lots of people crave the orange from the euc leaves.

  2. Valerianna says:

    Great collection. I quite like that orange myself… rather rusty. I might know a kin to that grapevine tendril me thinks? And 46 degrees… yikes, we’re at – 8 C and heading to a night of -17 C… ugh.

  3. My Utah friend has grape vines on a neighbor fence all along her back alley and I had a bouquet of them the whole time I was there–me too about the orange–I like it…and of course, the blues are always wonderful, but you might be surprised to know I like the grays too, and I also love that you spelled it “colour”–very Victorian. Thanks for the well wishes on my post and can’t wait for the magic you will make of all this lovely stuff.

  4. Robyn says:

    Eeek to 46C! We’v had a few 42’s this year which is unbearable for me. Finding a bird nest always makes me feel very lucky. I’m drawn to the rust especially next to the slate blue.

    • Mo Crow says:

      we have had to work so hard with the outdoor gardening this week what with all all the burnt tree fern & palm fronds and trimming up the fried foliage, feeling quite creaky today but have been enjoying some quiet stitching this morning with the beginning of getting these colours to work together

please leave a reply

