my beautiful vintage Singer

Posted: November 9, 2012 by Mo Crow in magic
Tags:

I bought this 1934 Singer 99K hand cranked sewing machine on eBay last week and it arrived safe & sound on my doorstep today. The thread was sitting on the spindle  with the bobbin already wound so I followed the threading instructions in the 56 page manual for 99 & 99K models that I found on the net and it works! Will spend a few days cleaning and oiling all the moving parts just to get to know it and learn how to adjust the tension and stitch length but it’s a beauty. Electric machines have always felt too fast for me to enjoy, this one feels really natural & easy to use after only a few minutes and it’s just so beautiful, I’m in love!

Comments
  1. I have the same model, but have never been able to get the bobbin to work on it. I will go seek out the manual on line.

    They are things of beauty, old machinery. There seems to have been so much pride in the design and finish. Was it the belief only something beautiful was able to do a beautiful job?

    • Mo Crow says:

      Here’s the link to the PDF of the manual and some wonderful youtube videos that show how to thread and clean and oil these old machines Part 1 here & Part 2 here
      These old machines come from a time when things were built to last which is almost the opposite of so many things that are made out of plastic today & gosh, we have so many things in common Charlotte!

      • That has started my day with a smile. Thanks for the manuals etc. My Singer is gathering dust on a shelf, mainly due to lack of time to sort it out. Sewing is done on the electric Janome. But I know exactly what you mean about the speed.

        • Mo Crow says:

          you will love it, those youtube clips by Lizzie Lenard are fabulous, I am left handed so I often hurt machines by turning screws the wrong way but she goes through everything so carefully & with such loving attention that I feel like I can do it!

  2. Eliene says:

    She IS a beauty Mo & I know you will produce beautiful things on her too. Glad she arrived safely.

  3. Carol says:

    Really beautiful machine, Mo and I can’t wait to see what magic the two of you can produce.

    • Mo Crow says:

      it’s that wild new love feeling when all the stars are aligned and everything is falling into place with the careful cleaning out of all the dust and gunk and coming into an understanding of the inner workings of this lovely lovely thing!

  4. Kristin McNamara Freeman says:

    Ooooh how truly lovely this is. Now to “machine sew” some of the bits with mechanical silence, and an ease that puts all of the energy of the fine creating spirit in your hands. Love this concept, feel the delicious energy that domes from this practice.

  5. julie says:

    What a beautiful piece of machinery, Mo! I have very fond memories of my Nana using a very similar machine. I’m sure it will sew magical things for you.

  6. Tilly says:

    Congratulations with your singer , Mo. (:-) singing Singer)

  7. Bronwyn says:

    I can see that the machine has a wonderful personality , you two will make beautiful music together for some long time.

  8. Midori says:

    Oh these are the best! Beautiful works of art and function!

please leave a reply

