Full Moon and the Floral Arrangment

Posted: October 29, 2012 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags: , , ,

Just caught the Full Moon before it set behind the warehouse across the road
with the latest crow drawing at the halfway point, there’s still a long way to go to get all the light bits balancing up with that inky darkness but it’s getting there & you’ll laugh at the beginnings to this one (I hope) call it magic, synchronicity or perhaps just the flighty nature of chance…. this is the illustration for Old Man Crow’s song “Floral Arrangement”

The uncanny thing is I can’t draw metaphor… I have to feel everything literally and this song had always seemed to be about someone else until I started the drawing a few weeks ago! Old Man Crow wasn’t feeling well and couldn’t make it out for the farewell dinner with our good friends A & John who were in town for John’s first solo show here in Sydney. So I went over to Paddington had a nice meal & they accompanied me home on the bus, we said our goodbyes at the door & they headed off down the street where they met Rod down at the corner reeling home from the local pub… Paul the sometimes drummer for Old Man Crow was in town & wanted to talk music so the man could rouse himself after all… I was sooooo pissed off the next day but got over it by the afternoon because the timing of that moment gave the drawing just the right frisson of melt down, gotta laugh when life meets art in such strange ways!!
The man felt very contrite and wrote a letter to A & John in apology & got a lovely e-mail back from them saying they really enjoyed running into him falling out of the pub & that more paintings had sold over at the Queen St Gallery
so everything turned out all right in the end… and the drawing is a lot of fun!

Comments
  1. Wanted to leave you a witty comment, the best I could come up with was:
    I am married to one just like that.

    It did make for a very good drawing though. Best to you at this full moon.
    Charlotte xxx

    • Mo Crow says:

      hehe!we have a lot in common Charlotte, thanks for the good words, am having fun with this one and Old Man Crow has just about recovered from the wrath of Mo!

  2. julie says:

    That’s hilarious! Hope you got some flowers…..

    • Mo Crow says:

      I had already picked the bunch of “wildflowers” from the street and the park for the drawing on that strangely fated Saturday but the house looks very clean and the garden is very well watered!

  3. Carol Cantrell says:

    Hi Mo,

    That is such a funny post! I can just imagine how pissed off you were… However, the drawing is coming along beautifully and you seem to have forgiven Rod.

    My iPad wont let me put a comment on your post today. Sometimes I can but other times there just isn’t a place to publish or send. Now that really pisses me off. Anyway, here I am.

    Going home tomorrow from my three weeks on country roads. I’ve put some pics on my blog but as they were taken with my iPad, they are a bit dodgy. I can take great photos on my iPhone but when I send them to the iPad it makes them blurry. Too much for me to get my head around. I do know that I will enjoy my own bed tomorrow night (even though this trip has been fabulous) and ill be very happy to see my three little kid lets again.

    Cheers, Carol xxx

    Sent from my iPad. If you forward this email please remember to delete all email addresses before sending it on. Put email addresses in the BCC line when forwarding.

  4. margaret johnson says:

    Had to have a laugh, hehehe. Great pic of the Moon, and love your latest sketch. The snails really appeal to me. Marg ox

    • Mo Crow says:

      those snails have their own little story! I must write an e-mail to Peter Fitzsimons of the Sydney Morning Herald and ask his permission if I can print his snail tale here on my blog when the drawing is finished in a few weeks.

  5. contemporaryembroidery says:

    I am also in love with the snails….

  6. Tilly says:

    🙂 I love the snails

please leave a reply

