Finished Something Else!

Posted: September 9, 2012 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags: , , ,

“Something Else” by Mo Orkiszewski 2012
5H,4H,F,6B & 8B graphite, black conté, white pastel & finally some Titanium White Golden fluid acrylic highlights put in with a “ooo” brush on a big sheet of Saunders Waterford H/P 425 gsm, a wonderful paper that takes a lot of deep mark making, I engrave the surface deeply first with the 5H pencil sharpened to a needle point every few minutes…

listen to a recording of Old Man Crow’s song here
and see the rest of the series here
so that’s 13 down with 27 to go, I do love having a nice long project to immerse myself in!!

Comments
  1. sarah says:

    Congratulations! It’s wonderful.

  2. “You can’t have a light without a dark to stick it in.” ~Arlo Guthrie

    You bring a whole lot of that light out of that darkness!
    I am very, very fond of ‘Paradise’ and in admiration of the whole body of work so far.
    It takes love and great focus. You have both.

    • Mo Crow says:

      thanks for the encouraging words Michele! y’know when I was working up the roughs that crow was pointing his beak straight for the sun but he is looking over his shoulder as the song says, the crows and the songs tell me what they need and I’m just making the marks to fit…

  3. yvette says:

    look and listen..it was lovely

    looked at your cats too and love them

    dagdag

  4. Valerianna says:

    Great… and I love the raindrops.

    • Mo Crow says:

      those raindrops were a lot of fun! I felt like I had to let this one go a bit early as the marks were starting to become counter productive & it may well need more work on the lights & darks in a few years when I can work more swiftly and deftly… last week I had a chat with the skin doctor who patchworked my nose about how surgeons do such precise and focused work all day without making mistakes & came to the conclusion that that is what being a professional is all about! And then on the way home I realized that surgical precision is not really necessary in a drawing or painting… it’s the power of the line that brings the work to life… these big crow drawings are giving me the chance to explore gesture and feeling in the mark making, new territory for me after 52 years of drawing (started drawing in kindergarten & have never stopped) I wonder if the crows will start to abstract in the next few years?

  5. Carol says:

    Beautiful Mo, such marvelous detail.

  6. spiritcloth says:

    i like the empty part of the wing

  7. Tilly says:

    It’s marvelous art. I keep looking at all the details, they feel like beeing in motion. You have captured the movement and let it fly free. Thanks for sharing (((mo)))

  8. Robyn says:

    You’ve captured the essence (the quirkiness) of crow.

  9. ooh, oooh, ooooh… Another gem in your crow crown! I know what you mean about a long project… you don’t have to get up and wonder– now what? Fantastic!

    • Mo Crow says:

      I’ve been giving myself big long projects to play with for decades now, they keep my monkey mind happy but funnily enough it’s the side projects that just pop out of nowhere that may well be the most interesting work in the long run!

please leave a reply

