Past the point of no return?

Posted: August 11, 2012 by Mo Crow in 2017 crow time
Tags: , , , ,

“The Letter P” from “An illuminated Book of Cats
words by Rod Morgan, illustration by Mo Orkiszewski, musing by Ariel P. Cat ©  2010

Yesterday I was having a conversation online over at Jude Hill’s inspiring Spirit Cloth blog about ideas of space
and she said,
“the point of no return.  i wonder how far that is. sometimes i think it is the same old familiar place with a new face….”

these words struck a deep chord in me & I was able to draw for 9 hours straight, I may well have “Opportunity” finished by next weekend for the New Moon!
I love this 21st C world where we can share ideas online at 2 am with like minded folk from all around the world, it’s even better than the starry eyed dreaming from back in the 70’s of a place & space where we would all have the time to pursue our dreams & share the music and poetry and art that follows, it’s here & now!
detail of the House of Chance shop window in Opportunity  by Mo 2012

Comments
  1. sarah says:

    That detail amazes me. I am so looking forward to seeing the completed picture.

    I agree with you about how this era is wonderful for creative people who have so much more opportunity 🙂 to connect with other creative people. On the other hand, I wonder too if we sometimes need more disconnection, in order to maintain our authentic voice rather than letting it become layered over with others’ opinions, expectations, advice, and manner. Just something I am musing upon lately.

    • Mo Crow says:

      There is a huge amount of “information overload” as Alvin Toffler coined back in 1970 with “Future Shock” but it’s really very easy to just turn off the computer and go out for a walk! It’s all about balance ahe? I am amazed with being able to communicate so freely & easily, a physical letter to my family in the US can still take a month or more to arrive safely & I remember very well my hippy years of living out in the bush 2 kilometres up a dirt track with no electricity or phone or car & the nearest town was a couple of hours walk away & that was good but I spent a lot of time just surviving! Being able to wake up in the middle of the night from a dream with an idea about drawing a butterfly and wondering which way it’s tongue unfurls and finding a photo online within seconds… and then putting that in the drawing at hand, that is still a totally magical experience to me!

  2. margaret johnson says:

    Hello Mo, I am totally in love with this your latest picture. Fine detail you do so well. I just love that there is so much to see. It is a great feeling to be inspired hey. As far as the point of no return being a mystery, maybe it is to some. But let me tell you, when you have reached that point, you sure as hell will know all about it. Your art work is BEAUTIFUL, and you are an inspiration. ox

    • Mo Crow says:

      Thanks for the good words Marg! y’know “Opportunity” is about one of the most exciting and scariest nights of my life… New Orleans is a great city, very friendly and laid back, full of the best music & parties all night long but there is a dark & dangerous magic there too. I almost went past the point of no return that night but Old Man Crow got me outta there and wrote the song to tell the tale!

  3. spiritcloth says:

    oh! beautiful, a real journey to look at.

please leave a reply

