A Cat Tale for the Abyssinian Cat Club of Australasia

Posted: July 27, 2012 by Mo Crow in 2017 crow time
Tags:

The Abyssinian Cat Club of Australasia asked me to to be their patron this year so I wrote this story for their next journal which will be out soon.
Ariel P. Cat aka Nile Ariel is the Abyssinian cat of my dreams!
I first met one of these mini cougars at a friend’s house in Adelaide in 1974. I fell in love with that wild looking and regally self contained cat but Abys were quite rare in Australia and way out of the reach of an impoverished art student’s budget. When my life finally settled down enough to start the quest for the kitten of my dreams in 1999 I was lured onto the internet (having been a total technophobe up ’til then) & the first site I found here in Sydney was George Kennedy’s “Nile Abyssinians”. I met George at a cat show and fell in love all over again with his lithe wild-looking cats & that day he agreed to sell me a pet quality kitten when one became available. I kept an eye on his website & when Ariel was conceived on the Spring Equinox under a Piscean Moon I knew in my heart he was the one !
On November 26th,1999 Ariel was the only kitten in his litter
 out of Nile “Sweeter Than Roses”
and Nile Oberon pictured here with his proud owner Wendy McDonald of Haldis Abyssinians

it took a few weeks to convince George he was mine but by joining the Abyssinian Cat Club of Australasia and agreeing to show Ariel when he was a kitten the deal was done.
The joy at our first meeting was amazing, George expected Rosie to be very protective & Ariel to be shy but Rosie was happy with her gift of a pot of catnip and catgrass and left us to attend to her grooming and enjoy some sun, giving Ariel and I a magical hour to get to know each other. He was only 3 weeks old and so tiny but bravely climbed all over me, it was an instant bonding.
Ariel at 8 weeks
Rod & I visited him every 2 weeks & George posted lots of photos on his website
here’s Ariel at his first show in Rooty Hill at 11 weeks old
he came home at 13 weeks old
after winning Best Kitten at the Canberra Show.
he was so small!
Ariel enjoying his “Day at the Beach”verandah enclosure at 11 months
bravely protecting our house from the evil balloons when he was 2
enjoying the view here in Newtown
He rules our house with a velvet paw and nearly 13 years later we can’t imagine life without him!
You can see more photos & books about Ariel here on our website
Photos of Ariel
Art inspired by Ariel
 “Cooking with Cats”
An illuminated Book of Cats
&  here’s a link to the Aby Club’s Facebook Page
Mo and Ariel showing off our book for Michael Sansom secretary of the Abyssinian Cat Club of Australasia

Comments
  1. Eliene says:

    What a great story….& some wonderful pics. He is a proud boy…..& rightly so!!!

    • Mo Crow says:

      Hi Eliene! did you see the 11 year old Aby at the shelter in Melbourne in need of a home over on the Aby Club’s facebook page? do you have room for just one more cat?

      • Eliene says:

        Yes, I did see that Mo….& for 1 millesecond I thought mayyybeee….but in reality I don’t think so. I think Spinner would really get that Bengal nose of hers right out of joint….& MIss Isabella, well I don’t think she would cope at all.

        • Mo Crow says:

          Y’know Ariel doesn’t have a problem with any of the girl cats in the neighbourhood it’s the boys that want to come in here and take over & hmmm an 11 year old Aby boy who has been properly spoiled in his old home would want to be the main man for sure… your two girls would certainly not be happy about that!

  2. What a gorgeous cat! I have always been fascinated by Abys, but never had one myself. He is beautiful.

  3. margaret johnson says:

    Hi Mo, didn’t realise you have had Ariel for quite that long. He is beautiful. So great to see his progress pics. I’ve been a cat lover all my life, they are such good company. All my cats have led very happy long lives (between 18 and 23) and I often think of them. Just like the people you love, their Spirits stay with you always. Give Ariel a big cuddle from me. ox

  4. Oh my goodness….that kitten would have been absolutely irresistable to anyone I think, even a non cat person…just the loveliest. I’ve known a few in my long history of cat caring, but one never came to live with me. Mine, Except for the coon cat were all american short hairs of varying lineage. Your drawings, photos, sculptures, and the new book–supurb–just supurb. I think I’ve said this before. Well it bears saying more than once!

    • Mo Crow says:

      ah thanks for the good words Michele, Ariel is a very special cat that’s for sure, y’know some friends have mentioned that he’s a bit err… ummm… spoiled but I see it more that we are very well trained!

  5. geiger says:

    I can’t believe an Abyssinian is in shelter! But then, I regard all cats as regal and high-priced. (Well, we two are!)

  6. Bronwyn says:

    I can see why you fell in love Mo, AP is just spectacular. I didn’t realise you had shown him let alone that he won!!! Also thought P stood for puss…

    • Mo Crow says:

      The P is for Pussy but he certainly can be a bossy Potentate too!
      Here’s a link to the Little Pussycat Song!
      Ariel was the only kitten to be born at Nile Abyssinians for that show season so I agreed to show him until he was neutered at 9 months old, it was an interesting experience!

  7. What a lovely way to present some of Ariel’s highlights. I really enjoyed it.

please leave a reply

