a few old photos from last century

Posted: July 24, 2012 by Mo Crow in art exhibitions
Tags: , ,

taken the night I graduated from art school in 1989 age 34 & 3/4, such a bright young(ish) thing. feeling like the world was at my feet
Holding “Athame ” (the glass knife to cut air with) part of the “7 Blue Triangles” my major work for the Sydney College of the Arts 1989 graduation show at the Glass Artists Gallery in Glebe
The Flighty Nature of Chance is in the foreground, most of the pieces were sold on the opening night but I gave Old Man Crow the piece of sky
Is that really 23 years ago? my my how time flies…
 here’s a photo taken by my iMac, the years have laid in some interesting lines along the way
next week the skin doctor has to cut a skin cancer out of the corner of my nose so I’m leaving a trace here of how I looked before…
ah vanity… even still… at 57 & a 1/2  but y’know these are the best years yet, who wouldda thought?

Comments
  1. deanna7trees says:

    the world is still at your feet and you look great still. will be sending healing thoughts to you.

    • Mo Crow says:

      thanks for the encouraging words Deanna! I am mostly OK with the idea of the surgery, Nick the bass player said I should ask the skin doctor to do the same slice on both sides to even things up and get a bit of a face lift at the same time, another friend reckons it’s the perfect opportunity for getting some interesting nose furniture and really it’s not that big a deal, talking to other women of my vintage I don’t even see their scars, it’s the wrinkles that are much more noticeable these days and that’s only when I’m wearing my glasses!

  2. Els says:

    Aaaah Mo, vanity …. it all tickles us from time to time ….
    But the best part I see in your face, is the fun in your eyes that’s still there !
    Keep it that way ! Life goes on and leaves a few traces, so what !
    I wish you the best with your surgery

  3. Bronwyn says:

    Hi Mo, thinking of you next week with the surgery. You’re right about the glasses, I find so much more of everything good and bad if I wear mine!

    • Mo Crow says:

      it’s kind of fun wearing glasses, I have a set of bifocals for reading & the computer and the very strong ones for the super fine detail that are almost like the x-ray specs that were advertised in the back of the comic books when we were kids, having all these different ways of seeing gives a state of altered consciousness without the hangover!

  4. sarah says:

    My aunt had that same surgery and you couldn’t tell now. I hope the surgery goes well. A little scar is far better than cancer. (By the way, I love that black lace dress!)

  5. Valerianna says:

    Wonderful to see you… good luck and quick healing to your nose!

  6. “The best is yet to come and won’t it be fine”
    Beauty is obvious, omnipresent, deep within and it shows. I’m thinking about you with love. The artist, the woman, the lover, the clown, all of the you’s are coming together for the next stretch of living dear Mo. Be easy. You are loved.

  7. I think you look stunning, in all your years. Do you find it shocking to catch yourself in shop windows and wonder who that woman is? I still get surprised by my grey and white hair (daft as I have been going grey since 19). But beauty is in the experience drawn into our faces and bodies, yours is beautiful.

    I looked at my mum on Saturday, she is 83 next year and is so beautiful.

    Best for the surgery, go for the chiselled, aquilne look and we can call you Nefertiti.
    Thinking of you,
    C xxx

    • Mo Crow says:

      haha I wish! had a friend many moons back who looked just like Nefertiti, she was mad as a cut snake & twice as dangerous but had such a beautiful smile… thanks for the good words Charlotte!

  8. margaret johnson says:

    Hey Mo, love your High Hair and beautiful black dress!! You still have your beautiful face, with those cheeky eyes and gorgeous smile. Not to mention your fab hair. I know you’ll be brave with the surgery. You can go around telling everyone you’ve just had a nose job!! ox

  9. Christina says:

    Will be thinking of you next week, Mo, take care! I only hope I look as good when I’m 57, I’ve just turned 46 this year and yep, you’re right, sometimes it’s better to leave the glasses OFF! 😉

  10. Carol says:

    Mo, that black dress is gorgeous! As are you, then and now.
    And “Athame”, knife to cut air with – what a magical thing!

    • Mo Crow says:

      That black dress was a beauty found it at Balmain markets second hand for $20 back in 1988 & it fit like a glove, had to have a cocktail party to celebrate and made everyone wear cocktail gowns even the women who had never work a frock in their lives! they grumbled but did and a good night was had by all! & Athame ’twas an exercise in dangerous beauty.

  11. dinahmow says:

    When my brother was a little ‘un he looked at a picture of some “middle years” woman advertising something and said ,scathingly, that “she hasn’t earned her face yet.”

    I have a few scars and figure they may be visible, but that’s better than growing skin cancers. Good luck, Mo

  12. I think you look beautiful at both ages. Coincidentally, I also got my BFA at age 34, in 1993. I’ve lost my athame, though- it may be in a box in my basement! I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts, wishing you the best of luck with your surgery.

    • Mo Crow says:

      I wanted to give that blade to Roderick but a collector wanted to buy it along with the table and three of the other blue triangles and I needed the money! thought I would make more but never did that was then, this is now & I have always loved books more than knives!

please leave a reply

