Dancing with the Dark

Posted: July 12, 2012 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags: , , ,

The illustration for “Turn the Page” is making my hair stand on end this morning!
There’s just a few more hours of dancing with the darks then a few minutes with the Series 7 “000” Winsor & Newton and some white gouache and it will be done
Here’s a few pics taken over the last week going back in time
It was about here that I realized that right hand crow foot was way too small and the drawing got a lot more fierce!
here’s the links  to the earlier developments here &  here
It’s a wild ride!
(NB just click on the pics to see the details)

Comments
  1. It is just wonderful, I love the pose and the promise of more to come. You have a very delicate touch and I am just a touch envious…

    I have had a day of crows and ravens, yours made me smile.

    • Mo Crow says:

      Thanks for the good words Charlotte but y’know what? I am very heavy handed, break lots of leads and use layers & layers of white out! It was a great relief for me to learn that Robert Crumb (a major influence on my work) uses lots of white out too (Dr Ph Martin’s Bleed Proof White is good but on this drawing I am using Titanium White Golden Fluid Acrylic a good dense white that is not so viscous) that gave me a lot more freedom to just do whatever comes next and see where it goes + working on these big thick sheets of paper gives the lines a lot more life.

      • That gives me some hope, I have far too heavy a hand, my sketchbook is a disgrace. I think I should invest in some white out for myself.

        • Mo Crow says:

          go for it girl and I would never have thought you were heavy handed either, your work has such a beautiful & spontaneous delicacy! I engraved glass for many years where the only moment of freedom is the chinagraph marks to start the lines then it’s hours & hours of refining, matting & polishing the lines to achieve the lights and darks and no way to erase a mistake. Had thought of taking up tattooing as it’s a very similar tool to use but there is no way you can make a mistake on skin + the blood was a bit off putting! Using a pencil on paper is so forgiving & the good thing is if it really goes past the point of no return it’s easy to start again, even the most expensive sheet of paper is still under $10 and it’s only a bit of time that’s been lost and so much is always learned from each one… I like the shimmer of graphite even though people tell me the shine of 6B is undesirable… overworking & erasure is “allowed” in these 21st C days thank goodness!
          NB added the next day… those heavy handed fierce deep marks are made on the wild fierce confident days but the shimmering marks are made on the trembling whistful days and the good thing about getting to this stage of the game is knowing the sort of day it is and what sort of marks are possible… there has been a lot more shimmering in this lifetime than fierce confidence, that’s only happened this year with these crows drawings!

  2. margaret johnson says:

    AWESOME. ox

    • Mo Crow says:

      haha! thanks Marg, just taking a breather… got a bit carried away… it’s a good time to go for a walk & then do some more stitching on the hope hankie and give it a rest now til the morning

please leave a reply

