Hope on this Capricorn Full Moon

Posted: July 3, 2012 by Mo Crow in magic
Tags: , , ,

It’s a chilly Capricorn Full Moon and although my Moontime Diary tells me it’s a good day for disciplined work all i feel like doing is curling up in front of the heater stitching “Hope” into this hankie !
the indigo & rust hand dyed silk is from the fabulous Canadian cloth conjuror Arlee Barr and the cheesecloth is from Beautiful Silks in Mebourne
Here is a detail showing the first line of “Hope is the thing with feathers” by Emily Dickinson written in watercolour pencil on Floriani’s Wet N Gone soluble paper. This is my first experiment with this technique, will see how it all holds together after the paper is dissolved in water & will strengthen it with more stitching, emu feathers & a few bone beads where needed. The next three lines will be embroidered one line per side on the cheesecloth with a small star in the centre. I’m surprised with how much lighter the silk looks and feels with the cheesecloth backing, it makes it puff up like a little cloud and float!
This piece is inspired by Deanna of Eclectic Meanderings here & here

Comments
  1. The colours are beautiful, rather like the nebula and birth of stars we see from the hubble. I like the idea of feathered and winged hope coming out of such a birth.

    • Mo Crow says:

      Thank you for the good words Charlotte I have wanted to try the soluble paper for about 6 years now since I first started visiting the annual Sydney Quilt Show when the wonderful Australian Craft Show finished after 20 years of inspiration and have dreamed of making lace when I am in my 80’s since I was in my early 20s, this is a start!

  2. sarah says:

    It’s so beautiful, it looks like sorrow and hope, which I sometimes think are different layers of the same thing.

  3. Carol says:

    Already so beautiful, Mo, and I’m sure will be an item for the bride to treasure forever.

    I really miss the Australian Craft Show. A sad day when we lost that.

    • Mo Crow says:

      Hi Carol, maybe if we all x our fingers, eyes & toes and click our ruby slippered heels at the same time one day the Craft Show will be resurrected!

  4. Ah–the moon-the inconstant moon-clouded over here, so I’m glad I got a peek at the almost full moon over the last two nights. not sure I understand what soluble paper is..but will look into the links later. So far the hankie looks as hopeful as your wish to infuse it with some.

    • Mo Crow says:

      the soluble paper provides a stable surface to embroider the words into the fragile cheesecloth and then it just dissolves in water… well, hopefully that’s how it will go and won’t just make a sticky mess!

  5. Steph says:

    LOve it, love the colors… stitching is good when it’s cold outside… 🙂

  6. arlee says:

    Thanks Blossom 🙂

please leave a reply

