Inconsequentiality in process

Posted: April 9, 2012 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time, music
Tags: ,

Halfway along with illustrating Old Man Crow’s song from around 1985 “Inconsequentiality”
(just click on the pic for a bigger view)
you can listen to it here
Inconsequentiality 031004
focusing on the line-
“I said I know that all of us are pawns in someone’s game
It’s just it makes me feel a little edgy all the same”
you can read all the words in Rod’s Shed

there’s still quite a long way to go with balancing all the lights and darks,
am loving getting back to using black ink, the bold lines are made with this fabulously flicky glass pen my friend Dotti bought for me from Parkers Art Supplies in The Rocks a treasure trove of every kind of paper paint, brushes, pens & pencils imaginable.
The chess board has been borrowed from Tenniel’s illustration for Through the Looking_Glass by Lewis Carroll

Comments
  1. deanna7trees says:

    love seeing your drawings. beautiful pen.

  2. margaret johnson says:

    Beautiful Mo, love this one. Love the lyrics too. Have seen the glass pens and have wondered how they would perform. Does the ink hang onto the grooves in the glass? Hope you’re fit and well. Marg, ox

    • Mo Crow says:

      Hi Marg thanks for the good words the glass pen is a joy to use the ink stays in all the grooves when one side runs out the other still has ink in it and the backward flick is really smooth, not scratchy like a steel nib, it allows a much freer line the the 0.25mm Rotring Rapidograph I use for the fine details & it’s good to move between the two.

  3. Carol says:

    Your crows have such personality. And the tree is really beautiful!

  4. Christina says:

    Beautiful, Mo! And I love that pen, I do remember seeing some years ago, and wondering the same thing as Margaret. Now I know to get myself one if I ever see them again!

    • Mo Crow says:

      Those glass pens have a personality as they are flame worked by hand in Italy so when you buy one try a few but funnily enough the first one I chose out of the jar was the one that felt best… often the way ahe?

  5. Valerianna says:

    I sort of like the way it looks in process… interesting contrast between detailed and loose.
    Is that pen nice to draw with or more of a beautiful thing than functional?

    • Mo Crow says:

      Hi Valerianna, hmmm…. that’s a good observation…I am enjoying each of these big drawings at this halfway point when there’s still room for the possibility of resolving all the ideas. I am putting each of these early drawings in this crow series away at the New Moon in the hope that after I finish the 40 illustrations (in about 3 years time) that I will be so deft with the mark making and concept that these early ones will just need a few gestures of light or dark to resolve them…
      Drawing with black ink comes naturally and I keep coming back to it over the past 40 years of trying to loosen up the need for all the tiny details but I do still love them nonetheless!
      The glass pen is brilliant each one is an individual and the man in the art supply store let me try them all out but as I mentioned earlier to Christina, the first one that I picked was the “right” one for me (I’m left handed and very picky) It’s much smoother than a steel nib with a lovely balanced weight in the hand and because it’s handmade the point is slightly irregular making a variety of marks both thick and thin with a lovely smooth yet flicky flourish to the line.

please leave a reply

