Dry walls at last!

Posted: December 16, 2014 by Mo Crow in It's Crow Time
Tags: ,

wallpreparationSoon my bench will be able to move back to it’s spot under the window! Thanks to the wonderful handyman and his offsider on Halloween the problem is solved, we had a lot of rain last week and the walls are drier than they have ever been in the 6 years we have lived here, doing the happy dance we may well be here for a good while yet!
Yesterday arvo I propped up the ceiling with a piece of bamboo cut to fit in behind the curtain rail and prepared the walls and the hole in the ceiling by scraping back all the loose plaster & rotted paint, sealed it all with watered down Bondcrete (PVA), will let it set for a few days then give it another coat and think about how to make some spider web lace with string to strengthen the edges….
xmas 14the xmas decorations are up and presents are waiting to be opened, I love the Silly Season!
doorwreath

Comments
  1. YAY for you and I recognize that feather on the shelf. Mine is in the front room and how I love to think of you when I pass it…Grace is there too, and Jude and Nancy Erisman – such lovely friends adorn my domain. I’ve done nothing about decorations because I’m usually away in Massachusetts but this year I’m in the City and have been running around to films, galleries and parties so much I got a nasty cold so will be in bed a few more days tra la……….

  2. dinahmow says:

    Bondcrete and spiderweb lace…now, where in the universe do those two belong in one sentence? Jeeze, mo! I love you!

  3. such warm feelings in this and many posts below….happy silly doing

  4. Dana says:

    I’m so happy for your dryness…what a satisfaction. Merry Christmas!

  5. grace says:

    this is SO GREAT to read. to SEE. to KNOW. There is nothing on Earth as wonderful as
    knowing someone who Knows what to DO. Blessings upon the Handy Men. Many blessings.

    • Mo Crow says:

      it feels amazing, that wall is dry the first time in 6 years… the thing that worries me is that I didn’t investigate earlier… I put it in the way too hard to deal with basket to the point that I really thought we were going to have to jump ship!

  6. Carol says:

    (((Mo))) Great news about the dry walls, well done those tradesmen. And well done you for your repairs too. My tree is still not up, presents not bought, cards not sent! Panic stations… Still, I’m enjoying having the little kids around and we have lots of crafty plans afoot.

    • Mo Crow says:

      little kids make the silly season even more magical! do they still believe in Santa?

      • Carol says:

        Oh yes, we believe in Santa. We met a Santa in the shopping centre and he made their day by coming over to talk to them. They later discussed whether he was the same Santa they had photos with at the beach because that one wears red shorts with his Santa garb. They decided that all the ones you see are Santa’s helpers and you never see the real one.

  7. Liz says:

    Such a seemingly simple thing, dry walls … and absolutely cause for celebration … Congratulations!!!

  8. Yay! I am picturing your happy dance and smiling!

please leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.